Nut and Seed Bread (Flourless)

I came across this gorgeous recipe on Pinterest. Made with rolled oats and psyllium (to bind) it is studded with nuts, seeds and dried fruit. The original uses goji berries and hazelnuts, which looks delicious, however I just used what I had in the house – dates, walnuts, pumpkin and sunflower seeds.

Image

1 cup nuts (any type) I used walnuts

1 cup of mixed seeds

1.5 cups rolled oats

1/2 cup dates

2 tablespoons oil

2 tablespoons honey or molasses

4 flat tablespoons of psyllium

1.5 cups of water

I added 1/2 tsp salt (not in original recipe)

Put all the dry ingredients in a bowl and mix well. Add the water mixed with the honey and oil – if the mixture is too wet add a little bit more water but I found mine was fine. I left mine in the bowl to absorb all the water for 1/2 hour, then tip into a paper lined loaf pan and press in firmly. Leave to sit for 2 – 4 hours until it is firm t touch and appears crusty along the top.

Preheat oven to 350 deg F.Bake for 30 minutes until browned on top and feels firm. Remove from oven, gently remove from tin onto baking tray and put back into oven, upside down for a further 20 – 30 minutes till baked and crusty in appearance.

Leave to cool, wrap in paper overnight before cutting. Serve in thin slices.

I love this and can imagine making it often but will experiment with the nuts and fruits.  The recipe on Pinterest was from a Belgium site which needs to be translated, find here http://gotujebolubi.pl/niezwykly-chleb-bez-grama-maki/along with her lovely photos, one of which I have pinched because it just looks stunningImage

The woman who originally came up with this recipe can be found on My New Roots http://www.mynewroots.org/site/2013/02/the-life-changing-loaf-of-bread/ and she also has gorgeous photography and writes much more about this so please do pay her a visit if you are going to be trying this!

17 thoughts on “Nut and Seed Bread (Flourless)

  1. We are just starting on the wheat and its relatives free diet (I can’t call it grain free as rice is staying put ;)) and I know I will miss bread. This bread almost seems like pumpernickel. I wonder though if chia or flaxseeds could be used in place of psyllium husks as they also gel up when wet. 🙂
    On the to try list for sure. 🙂

    Like

  2. Aha! I knew there had to be a way of making bread with psyllium – and here it is! Fabulous, I checked out her site too and it is great, thanks so much for sharing! I’ve been wheat and sugar free for over 8 months now and the improvement in health and well being, not to mention weight is almost unbelievable. I have become used to no bread – the glutan free stuff is mostly so ghastly I’d rather not bother. [Sorry glutan free bread makers] But this recipe looks just so yummy and I have all the ingredients 🙂

    To rabidlittlehippy I’d say get the psyllium – it’s available even in most supermarkets and is really cheap. The chia seeds won’t do the same thing – and you would need to use too much and they are expensive.

    So excited, I hope I find the time to make it today – if not definitely tomorrow!
    Happy days 🙂

    Like

    • I was rapt to find this too. I do buy gluten free bread but it’s expensive and the only one I do like does not enough texture or nutrition in it for me, this is perfect.

      Interesting to know your thoughts about chia seeds, thanks for that. I never had psyllium in the house and was surprised it was so reasonably priced.

      Let me know what you think of this, I will be experimenting with it no end I am sure lol

      Like

  3. That’s 3 blogs I have seen this on now so must be time for narf7 to give it a go :). It certainly looks rewarding. I, like thecontentedcrafter have been off bread and all of it’s delicious friends for about a year now and feel so much better for it. I still have barley in my soup and the odd brown rice based meal but not very often. I use beans as my new “grain” of choice and you would be surprised at what you can make using beans as flour. Throw nuts and seeds into the equation and you have a plethora of possibilities. Cheers for sharing and reviewing. I am going to try this soon 🙂

    Like

Leave a comment