Pumpkin, Walnut and Raisin Loaf

I just ended a three month baking hiatus and this was a yummy way to end it 🙂 I will put the original site I got the recipe from but I did change it just a little, increasing the amount of butter, walnuts, raisins and spice and I made the method easier. Served hot with butter it’s very delicious, on day 3 it still has a nice and moist texture.

IMG_3834

4 oz (100 g) butter

1 1/3 cups sugar

2 eggs,

1/4 cup water

1 cup pumpkin puree

1 2/3 cup flour

1 tsp baking soda

1/3 tsp salt

1/2 tsp baking powder

1 tsp cinnamon

1/4 tsp ground cloves

1 cup walnuts

3/4 cup raisins or sultanas

Preheat oven to 350 (180) deg and prepare 1 large or 2 small loaf pans.

Soften butter and cream with sugar. Add eggs and beat, add pumpkin puree and water and beat well. Add sifted dry ingredients – the flour, spices, salt, baking powder and soda. Fold in the walnuts and raisins, pour into tins and bake a large one 55 – 60 minutes, smaller ones around 35 – 40 minutes.

The original recipe was found at About.com – submitted by Diana Rattray

 

 

 

20 thoughts on “Pumpkin, Walnut and Raisin Loaf

      • I was thinking it would be sweet enough for me with the dried fruits that are in it. I am not sure what happens chemically when you omit the sugar in the ‘creaming’ part of a recipe. Do you have any idea? I should probably just try and see what happens 🙂

        Like

      • Mmmm. I really don’t know. I left sugar out of a cake once in error and it looked the same, maybe a little bit denser but the flavour was rather sorry – but you are you and used to not having sugar. I would probably tend to try a bit more pumpkin in it.

        Like

  1. If you omit the sugar in the creaming you just end up with creamed butter ;). I would add a few extra chopped dates to this mix to add the sweetness but I would go sans sugar and just “suck it and see” Ms Pauline. LOVE the use of pumpkin in this loaf. I am pumpkins loyal servant and devotee and any way to get extra pumpkin into my diet is AOK by me! Love it and cheers for the share…(now, how to get those eggs out of there…)

    Like

Leave a comment