Quinoa Chocolate and Coconut Balls….2 ways

Image

Since going gluten free I have been baking for my husband but looking for other recipes to satisfy MY sweet tooth. There are many versions of these on the net, I looked at alot of them them then threw my own concoction together testing the flavours until I was happy with it. These are “cakey” in consistency but light, chocolaty but not too sweet or rich and they are yummy. This recipe made about 18 quite large balls, it could easily be halved.

2 cups cooked quinoa

1 cup dates

1/2 cup walnuts (or sunflower seeds)

2 tablespoons peanut butter

1 tablespoon honey

2 tablespoons cocoa

3 tablespoons coconut oil

1 tsp vanilla

1 – 1 1/2 cups (approx) coconut

extra coconut for rolling

Put the dates and walnuts in a food processor and process till crumbly. Melt the coconut oil. Add all ingredients to dates and walnuts, starting with the one cup of coconut. Process till a consistency of dough that can be formed into balls, adding extra coconut if mixture too soft. Roll in coconut and chill.

Chocolate Cranberry Quinoa Balls

The second time I made these I changed the recipe a little. I used 1 cup of quinoa, omitted the peanut butter, increased the coconut to 2 cups, added 1 cup of cranberries.

IMG_3220

I chilled these then dipped in melted dark chocolate combined with 2 tsp coconut oil. Chill and keep refrigerated. These were wonderful too.

IMG_3223

28 thoughts on “Quinoa Chocolate and Coconut Balls….2 ways

  1. Ooooo …. that does sound yummy. I’ll pin it for later reference. I have a delicious recipe for pumpkin choc chip cookies too which I keep in the freezer and just take one out now and again when I just want a little something …. πŸ™‚
    I still havent made the psyllium bread yet – no walnuts – going to organics this week to get some though and will report back. Have a great week Wendy!

    Like

  2. You’ve just solved my Chirstmas rumball dilemma! Add in some sultanas and a dash of rum essence (maybe?) and excellent! I’d leave out the PB though. Not a fan really. πŸ™‚
    Can I just say, YOU LEGEND YOU! πŸ˜€

    Like

  3. sue says:

    Absolutely easy and lovely to eat. I took out the peanut butter, and used rice bran oil because I did not have coconut oil. I will try next time with coconut oil. Thanks from New Zealand

    Like

      • I have to be very careful because my natural instincts are to polish off the bowl on a regular basis. I was once a large narf7 and don’t want to return there any day soon so I have to keep a vigilant eye on myself sometimes. Its not so much that these babies are guilt free, it’s me developing the habit of overeating again. I am sort of a foodacholic who is on her own 10 step program but as an alcoholic would say “I am just 1 bowl of tasty snacks away from jumping back into the fray with my boots on”. Gotta watch my natural instincts πŸ˜‰

        Like

      • Ah ok πŸ™‚ You have done very well! I am rapt, I have lost 5 kg since going on the Blood Type Diet 5 weeks ago….even with a bowl of balls!! I am definately not an over eater but am carrying too much weight so I am happy to be finally losing it.

        Like

      • I was 100kg not so long ago and had trouble walking around the kitchen let alone the block. Now I walk 5km a day with the dog and still have energy to boot. I think I would rather suffer the fact that I can’t eat a lot of “tasty” things than go back to how I was. Well Done on your weight loss! 5kg is awesome and it certainly makes you feel amazing to see those damned scales going in the right direction for a change doesn’t it? πŸ™‚

        Like

      • Sure does! You have done brilliantly and should be really proud of yourself. I find there are plenty of healthy tasty options for things now, dates satisfy a sweet craving as well as anything. I will be happy on my present diet, no going back.

        Like

      • It’s always good to find someplace where you feel comfortable and that works. I think most people don’t realise that diets don’t fit everyone. They might work for a select few but everyone is different and what works for one person is highly unlikely to do the same for the next so you just have to tinker around with your appetite, what you like to eat and work within those parameters if you are ever going to stay on any type of weight loss plan in the long term. I think adding exercise was the big weight loss factor for me. Walking Earl would make ANYONE lose weight πŸ˜‰

        Like

      • Yes, I agree. My problem is definately lack of exercise. The diet is helping with pain in my joints so hoping I can get alot fitter in the near future! I used to walk 12 km a day and now can barely hobble around the garden.

        Like

      • I know what you mean. I spent most of 2010 hobbling around with my knee in various stages of “swell”. I was thinking at one stage that I would need surgery just to keep walking around and after mum died of a heart attack in 2012 I decided that I wasn’t going to carry on like that and started working on my diet and exercise. I couldn’t walk up our driveway without stopping about 4 times to get my breath back but now I almost sprint up but I had to get to this in small increments. It’s all “live and learn” stuff but there is light at the end of the tunnel and my knees don’t ache like they used to and my hands aren’t sore any more so there must be some good coming of it πŸ™‚

        Like

Leave a Reply

