Sometimes, it’s just love at first sight!

The last thing I ever wanted again was a puppy. They are alot of work and we have loved all the pre-loved older dogs we have had so when I went visiting a lady off Freeconomy to innocently drop something off I was not prepared to come away besotted by a tiny animal. 3 wee dogs greeted me at the door, 2 white and 1 black Maltese/Chihuahua. I patted and cuddled them and said how gorgeous they were and she replied with a big grin “Do you want to see the puppies?” “PUPPIES!?? I LOVE puppies!” So I go in the lounge to find 2 of the tiniest dogs I have ever seen, one black Hairy McLairy looking thing with huge blue eyes, jumping here, there and everywhere, cute….trouble πŸ™‚ One little golden one just sitting, watching, head cocked to one side, a little ray of gentle sunshine. Our eyes met and that was that. 18 hours of pleading and begging Roger to let me have him and being told “Oh god, get him then, I can’t be bothered with 3 months of s..t if you don’t” and he was all mine πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

image2So this is Angus (the man who didn’t want him had to name him) with my granddaughter Caitlin who came with me to pick him up. I call him Dot. He is a Malchi, a Maltese/Chihuahua.

It turns out he loves gardening too!

IMG_0404

More than anything he loves Syd and Syd loves him with all his heart.

IMG_0408

Like lots of babies he is at his cutest when he’s asleep πŸ™‚

IMG_0411

Mittens, the cat, does not like Dot…does not like Roger or I right now either and has taken to living downstairs and occasionally sneaking into the lounge to stare at this demon, a thing that smells like a dog but looks like a rabbit, rat….what the hell is that?

41 thoughts on “Sometimes, it’s just love at first sight!

  1. ❀ …..and life as you know it will never be the same again! πŸ™‚ Isn't he the cutest little ball of fluff! My Siddy, who has renamed himself 'Puppy' has brought me so much joy this past year and even though I now have no spare time any more I am even more in love with him than when I first met him. I hope Mittens will eventually come round just as Orlando did. And I think it is most fortunate and quite wonderful for you that you have Syd to act the role model and teach little Dot the rules of life πŸ™‚ I bet Roger will be won over in no time at all! xoxo

    Liked by 1 person

    • Roger is already smitten Pauline, wasn’t too charmed when I first brought him home but tiny puppies have a way of sneaking into your heart don’t they?! I don’t know about Syd’s mentoring abilities, every time I go out now Syd gets into so much mischief playing with pup…things he never did before! Chewed boots and wooly hats, ornaments and cushions everywhere lol. Yes, I have been thinking of Orlando and hoping Mittens will come around too, it sure makes you feel guilty! xxx

      Liked by 1 person

      • I believe Orlando worked quite hard to ensure I felt lots of guilt! πŸ™‚ But I just persevered with letting him call the shots and being top of the pecking order. Eventually he climbed off his high horse – or the fridge really – but it took a good three months. Now they sleep together, share my lap in the evening and even play around the kitchen floor! Who knew!!

        Liked by 3 people

      • Cats! lol. 3 months is a lonnnnggg time to have to suffer the indignation of a cat. That’s so cute though, I hope ours can have such a relationship, right now I am not feeling too hopeful….mind you Mittens took 6 months to finally snuggle up to Syd and they were best of mates till last weekend πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I am having a HUGE de-ja-vu moment here Wendy. Is this Ms Pauline’s post about Suddy or not?! I love your new baby and I love that Sid loves your new baby too. Can’t wait to hear about how this gorgeous little tumbling sweetie invades your quarter acre lifestyle. Great gardener by the look of it πŸ˜‰

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I could not have left without a puppy either so I’m very grateful not to have seen one. That little guy is so cute he could have wormed his way into Scrooges heart. He’ll keep you young. πŸ˜‰ and Syd too.

    Like

  4. RT says:

    Oh, Wendy, I’m glad it was you and not me – I would have given in, too! He is ADORABLE and looks like he fits right in (well, except with the cat). Don’t worry, it won’t be long before he’s Rogers dog. I got both of my dachshunds thinking I was safe to just look. Now I know there is no such thing as look and leave. Welcome Angus!

    Like

    • Lol, dangerous isn’t it?! I shall now only visit homes that are safely no-puppy zones! Dachshunds puppies would be too cute too πŸ™‚ Roger loves him now, he’s the one who wraps in a blanky each night πŸ™‚

      Like

  5. Squeal !!! Omgosh, you lucky duck. That’s so *so* wonderful Wendy. I’m really happy for ya all. Dot is outragesly cute. I know I’d be defenseless if I were to have been asked the same question. How you could manage to do anything at all now will be a wonder. I’d just want to hold and snuggle him all day long. I love the way puppies smell and they’re so soft. If we could bottle that, we’d be rich! I like his widdle ears….oh man, I would faint if Jim said OK, or just fall on the floor and cry with happiness, LOL. You must be a very persuasive gal :D. Lucky little Dot to have won your heart, I know he’ll be loved forever. Congratulations and Love Kelly. BTW, Happy for Syd to have a playmate too. xo They are sweet sleepy heads together.

    Like

    • LOL, I AM a lucky duck Kelly and I know it. I don’t know that I am persuasive as much as a pain in the rear end on the odd time I really want something and am told I can’t have it! I love squidgey puppies too, their puppy breath and little chubby tummies, their little butterfly kisses. I took him to visit a neighbour this morning and she wouldn’t give him back lol, he got lots of squishing and snuggling. I adore him already, he makes me happy….and Syd too πŸ™‚ xx

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Oh, Wendy . . . sigh . . . I’m so, SO lucky that I’m a big dog person! I know NO ONE who has large dogs, let alone large dog puppies. But if I did, I’d be following you down that primrose path, for sure . . . I do love the wee dogs, too; just never had a hankering to live with one. Of course, we couldn’t have a dog here, in any case, but Mum and I have found ourselves talking about ‘what if’ from time to time.

    I’m so happy you found young Angus (and, of course, I love that name!). I shall think of him as Angus MacDot, I think . . . Don’t they change your life? and in the most wonderful ways. I shall be expecting regular posts from you (to parallel Ms. Pauline’s posts about Siddy Puppy) so that I can live vicariously in Canine Heaven.

    This was such good news; and thanks for the cutest pictures, too. He could (almost) change my mind about small dogs. Don’t tell him I always say that if I have to bend down to pet it, it isn’t a dog . . . πŸ™‚ Young Angus is welcome to visit anytime and may cuddle on my lap for as long as he likes. Next best thing to a baby, aren’t they? Enjoy the journey, Wendy. Hugs to you and snuggles to Angus. ~ Linne

    Like

    • Roger is the same about big dogs Linne but he does like Angus McDot now. LOVE that name, he shall keep it lol. Aren’t you clever πŸ™‚ Yes, he is very baby and I love it…I miss my last “baby”, Syd is my best mate and though he would like to be a baby and a lap dog, he most definately is not. Hugs back Linne xxx

      Liked by 2 people

  7. Awwwww! Isn’t he cute? I’d love to have a dog – a big one, but I do love all tiny dogs too. Now don’t tell this to my daughter.. hes been asking one for a couple of years.. but we want to wait till she’s at least 10 – old enough for her little sister (who is 1 yr old now) to grow up a wee bit and not torture the dog.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. What a sweet bundle of joy! So cute, but such trouble lol. Those dogs are very popular in my town. They are so cute and make me want one. Just as well we have two gorgeous dogs already… Look forward to your updates πŸ™‚

    Like

  9. What a cutie, I would have had a hard time not bringing him home with me too. Your work is cut out for you as it seems Syd has returned to puppy behavior with little one around. You are going to have so much fun with this little puff ball and I bet soon he’s Roger’s dog instead of yours. πŸ™‚

    I didn’t tell you, my son’s puppy was almost a goner. She is so tiny but thinks she’s a guard dog. She saw a mother deer (doe) with her baby and decided to attack. Well mommy attacked harder. She stomped on Elsa at first very lightly but when that didn’t deter her she stomped harder. They were lucky the doe had restraint because while Elsa cried for a while the vet has said there are no broken bones.

    Like

    • Oh gosh! Pleased to hear your son’s pup is ok!!! they have no idea of their size do they lol. Syd thinks he is a sweet little lap dog, my old foxy thought he was 10 ft tall and indestructible lol. Syd definately has reverted to puppyhood, he is naughtier than puppy. You should’ve seen the mess I got home to yesterday! Tiny little soft toys shredded and polystyrene beads all through the house! Cane fruit torn to pieces and holy socks everywhere….he has never done that and can’t blame Dot….he is way too little and can barely shred a piece of paper lol

      Like

      • Oh my you do have your hands full Hope Syd’s naughtiness doesn’t turn Roger off the puppy.Of course you can’t blame Dot, Dot’s too cute. πŸ™‚ Those beads are a paint to clean up you’ll probably be finding pieces for weeks. Every time I think I’m going to cave and get a puppy I’m going to read this and remind myself why I shouldn’t do it. πŸ™‚

        Yes, that little dachshund thinks he’s a giant guard dog It’s hilarious. When I got the call about the deer I expected to hear he was dead I can’t believe momma held back and didn’t break anything.

        Like

      • Yeah, no, don’t cave lol. I am remembering all the reasons I used for years about NOT getting a puppy πŸ™‚ He is however gorgeous and could charm his way into the coldest of hearts I think. And yes, those beads are a pain and I didn’t think for one moment he could tear those toys, didn’t consider the 3 yr old “puppy” would!

        Like

  10. Awww, he is just too cute! You’re making me want one now… congrats on your new baby, I’m sure you will all enjoy having him around (how could you not, with that cute face and all..) he looks adorable and lovable.. even though I’m sure he’ll get in to all sorts if trouble too.. πŸ˜‰

    Like

  11. Oh Wendy!!!! How exciting + boy can I relate to what Roger said ” Oh, God then get him”-lol…so what my husband would say when I keep talking about something:-) I do the same with him, so I guess we are good for each other:-)
    He is adorable + what a cutie. Have you ever had a small dog before? I have not and would be afraid, I would step on him walking around the house!

    I don’t get on my computer much lately + my son is moving out east since he got a job offer after he graduated from college.in May…a new puppy..hmmm…now that would help me to feel better since my “youngest” will move in 3 weeks + no longer be two hours away:-( A puppy would do the trick-LOL Just have to convince the other half and that won’t be easy!

    Like

  12. Oh, you definately do need a puppy Robbie!! πŸ™‚ You need a new baby and another long term companion. It does fill the gap left by kids leaving. Love my dogs….didn’t love them quite so much when I got home from work yesterday to find a cushion filled with foam chips shredded in the lounge! I think I will do a follow up post today lol.
    I think I am a pretty low maintenance woman so if there is something I really want once every five years I prefer it if the hubby doesn’t just go “No” as soon as I suggest it. That just annoys me lol.Then he is just going to get the whole “Since when you you make all the rules for living here?” stuff…and “I have rights too you know!”
    I have had a little dog, a little Bichon Friese. I had him when Roger and I met and he was 15 when he died, he was very much my baby and I adored him. I have missed that little dog thing, I love Syd to bits and much as he would like to think he is a lap dog he is wayyyy too heavy for that.

    Like

  13. Awww Dot looks adorable.. and I bet your granddaughter is besotted with him. πŸ™‚ even if your Cat so dislikes him.. LOL..

    Lovely photo’s and these cute pictures almost make me want a dog.. But your next post of the tare-aways lol.. holds me back :-D.. Hard work I know puppies are.. And all my energy is spent gardening these days.. But the thought is being sent out.. Maybe one already house trained and one that has shed their puppy teeth LOL.. πŸ™‚

    ( I have been trying to persuade hubby about a rescue dog..You will have to tell me your secret persuasion skills πŸ™‚ … I have been suggesting it for 18 months.. So 18 hours was Very impressive!! :-)… LOL…

    Love and Hugs Sue xxx ❀

    Like

    • they are alot of work, I had sworn off puppies for years preferring older dogs and yes, house trained ones. I am having a terrible time in training him and did a search of the net to find out more about his breed just to find they are notoriously hard to house train!!! Re your hubby, you have to do the “I have rights too you know” and “Just once I would like to be able to say I want something and have you say, If you really want one sweetheart then you just get it!!!” All in a very loud voice that is winding up to get louder! πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      • LOL… πŸ™‚ Big smiles as I have been there done that.. Many times in the past.. I think I have mellowed in my ( younger years ) lol.. and just can’t be bothered with wasting energy :-D.. Having read your struggle to house train.. He would probably say.. ‘told you so!’ πŸ™‚ haha.. xxx

        Like

Leave a Reply

