Pickled Onions

Image

Pickled Onions:

1 kg small pickling onions

1/2 cup salt 5 cups water

1 litre malt vinegar

1/2 cup of white sugar

1 tbspn pickling spice (I just like whole cloves)

Put onions, salt and water in large bowl and soak overnight, drain and rinse well. Pack into 500 g jars.

Combine remaining ingredients in large saucepan, stir over medium heat and bring mix to boil. Turn down heat and simmer for 10 minutes. Cool and strain cold vinegar over onions to cover. Seal jars.

 

9 thoughts on “Pickled Onions

  1. How do you use your pickled garlic? I am interested in making some but am not quite sure how to go about using the end result! I used to love pickled onion and cheese sandwiches. Now that I am vegan I tend not to imbibe the old onions the way that I used to 😉

    Like

      • I adore garlic. When Steve moved here from the U.K. he was a fussy bugger. He told me “I don’t eat garlic” but after 2 weeks of cooking for him (with garlic in every single meal 😉 ) I said “how do you like my cooking?” and he told me I was a great cook and I told HIM that he had been eating so much garlic he may as well wave goodbye to those sexy sparkly vampire chickies on the telly so he just gave in and up and ate what he was given…best not to ask questions about what’s in your food if it tastes good…just go with it! 😉

        Like

      • I reckon lol. We love garlic, makes all the difference to a dish. I am fortunate Roger eats anything, except celery and parsley “which must contain some sort of poison to taste that bad!”

        Like

  2. LyndaD says:

    OOOOhh Im saving this one as a favorite. I love pickled onions, but not the shop bought ones. Thanks for post – you are a great resource and inspiration.

    Like

Leave a Reply

