Winter arrives….

We have had some beautiful days but also some cold ones and the nights are leaving hard frosts on the ground. Roger has been bringing home more pea-straw for the garden. We are very fortunate to get that free from the farm he works at – we get the older stuff from the previous year. I hate to think how many large bales have gone on our garden over the years but the results have been great. When we first dug up our lawn it was just dry, stony old river bed.

We got two great buys last week, the best would be a load of paint. Roger got this on an auction for $7…I guess many others wouldn’t bother because there was clearly alot of old stuff that would need to be taken to a chemical dump (lead based or useless). But he could see there was also new. Given we need more paint for other jobs around the house and outside he took a gamble.Image

We ended up with over 40 litres of good paint, around 10 litres of white enamel, 8 litres of brown decking and fencing paint we needed (I just bought a 2 litre pot just to cover the porch and it cost over $40) Other neutral paints and varnishes which will be handy and around 3 litres of clear varnish for my next attempts at decoupage. We were rapt. But we got more! Roger only had a $10 note and told the guy to keep the change, but the guy rushed off and got these for him. 2 bottles of wine and 4 jars of Pickled Red Onions. His family own a 6 family member production plant and these were from there. We felt like we had been paid to take this paint away!Image

One wine bottle is discreetly parked behind the other here because we opened it straight away πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

And I bought this lovely rug for $15

IMG_3731

Β We got our first taste of our homegrown honey and it is utterly gorgeous. The bees need the honey that’s there for over wintering but we sneaked a tiny bit.

Image

We were just discussing last week how we could harvest it ourselves when I came across this post from lizard100 on the home made equipment they created for the job…we will be trying this.

The bees and butterflies are enjoying our Buddleia tree outside our lounge window. This needs a severe pruning this year after it’s flowered.

IMG_3707

Image

You would think with all the preserving I do I could manage Quince Paste but this apparently is not so. Last year I had it cooking for forever only to burn it. This time I made crockpot paste but it didn’t set firm and had to be potted into jars for use as a spreadble paste. While divine it’s not quite what it should be.

IMG_3725

Β Remember this? I showed it when I bought it for $5, I wanted to repaint it.

IMG_3325

I have been working on it the last two weeks and was having trouble finding knobs. One very kind soul, another blogger who lives on the other side of the world! offered to send me some.

Lois from Simply Free, thank you xx

I will show it when finished.

31 thoughts on “Winter arrives….

  1. I am in awe of your ability to score bargains! And how kind of Lois to send some knobs too! I’m looking forward to seeing what you do with that cabinet.

    I do love a buddleia and yours looks magnificent! They are so wonderful for bringing in the beneficials and the butterflies too.

    It may be winter, but you are going to be just as busy I think! πŸ™‚

    Like

    • Hi Pauline πŸ™‚ Roger is better than I and he’s willing to put in the time and effort to acquire things, many couldn’t be bothered with the hassles.

      I have had a fair few lazy days by the fire now things have slowed in the kitchen, I am loving it. Just pottering really doing things in my own time. It’s nice to have the chance to slow down somewhat – I was exhausted a month or so ago. I might be getting just too old for all that rush πŸ™‚

      Yes, I changed the blog layout, it was too dark and annoying me.

      Like

      • I had a good look at the layout after I commented. I really like it – it is light and bright and all your recipes are laid out there and easy to find. For someone like me that is great and means I can pop over to check up on something when I have a sudden thought πŸ™‚

        I am pleased to hear you are taking it easy – I was too once πŸ™‚

        Like

  2. Can’t wait to see how you harvest your honey. The drill and bucket principle is good. It worked fine for us. Particularly as commercially available equipment is very expensive.

    Like

  3. oh to see those monarchs on your flowering bush-totally amazing!!! You are both so good at finding a great deal, but I agree with you that gift at the end was as if htey paid you to take the paint-lol:-) Your rug is beautiful, and it never surprises me that you find great ways to recycle! You should write a book on all that you do….your food storage is amazing,t oo….well, have I made you feel great today:-) YOu should , you work very hard to make a great homestead:-)

    Like

    • Oh, you have made me feel great πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ Thank you lol
      I love the tree and watching all the birds, butterflies and bees just there all day long. I kept telling Roger not to prune it but its getting very woody and messy

      A good buy is when they pay you to take it, ay lol. Couldn’t believe it when he walked in with jars and bottles of goodies.

      Someone else suggested I write an e-book and I have started but I feel funny about it and am struggling to do it. We just do what we do, it just seems normal to us and even having the blog sometimes feels weird.

      Like

  4. I always love coming to visit the quarter acre as there is always something new and interesting going on. It does tend to make me feel a bit slack at times but your bargains are amazing! I think you should both offer classes in “how to find a bargain” aka “NAIL that bargain!” ;). Excellent score on the paint. To be honest, if I got my lazy derierre out of comfort mode and back into early morning bargain hunting (garage saling etc.) I would be able to find my own selection of bargains but as it IS in comfort mode at the moment no such luck for me. I can just live vicariously through YOUR bargains πŸ™‚

    Like

  5. What a bargain I’d have so much fun going through all that paint. For me getting an offer of paint it’s like Christmas. I can’t wait to check out what colors I have now to play with. πŸ˜‰ But the freebies were awesome. See being nice does pay. πŸ˜‰ P.S. you are welcome.

    Like

  6. Wow… what a bargin, Love that you got the wine and pickles thrown in too.. πŸ™‚ and ooooh I could almost taste that sweet honey… I have seen where they put a block of royal icing into a hive over winter. Have you heard of this? a link here
    ww.bbka.org.uk/local/lincolnshire/articles/getting-your-bees-through-the-winter.shtml
    and you know how cold we have it in the UK..

    Loved your carpet bargain too… Oh and I went out to source some more items to paint today, and also got a bargain in half price items and when I got home 4 items that were stacked together only got scanned once.. so I saved on those too.. Yep the Universe is looking over my shoulder at the moment πŸ™‚ Big smiles… xx
    Sue

    Like

  7. That small sample of honey looks divine. The Contented Crafter, Pauline, linked me to your blog. πŸ™‚ Good to know you make use of pea straw. I was horrified to read in the Weekend Press about how much good pea straw is simply burnt off.

    Like

    • Oh….hello πŸ™‚ The honey is divine, we think it’s the best we ever tasted πŸ™‚

      We use heaps of pea straw, my husband gets older stuff free from the farm he works on, I hate to think how many bales have gone into our gardens over the past nine years. Wouldn’t you think it would be better to advertise it free for the taking than just burn it?

      Like

Leave a Reply

