Can You Really Homestead in the City?

Can you really homestead in the city? Why YES, you can! I love this post by one of my favourite bloggers Urban Overalls. They just do everything, and so well! Thanks for letting me repost 🙂

Urban Overalls

I have farming in my blood.  My  dad was a farmer.  His father was a farmer.  His grandpa was a farmer.  You get the point.  Yet as an adult, I moved to the city and left the country life behind me… or so I thought.  I had an urge to get my hands in the soil and eat farm-fresh eggs.  That had me wondering, can you really homestead in the city?

While the Homestead Act of 1862 granted land to applicants after five years of living on the land and demonstrating improvements, modern homesteading has no such requirements. Believe it or not, it is taking place right now in backyards across America. Friends and neighbors in urban areas are returning to a lifestyle of self-sufficiency lived by many of our grandparents and great-grandparents.

urban chicken urban chicken

A good starting point for any want-to-be urban homesteader, is your local municipal code.  The…

View original post 796 more words

11 thoughts on “Can You Really Homestead in the City?

  1. I reckon our plymouth rock hen only throws plymouth males as we are yet to see a speckled girl from anything that she has spawned. I hope I am wrong as I can count a small army of them in this last lot of babies that hatched out! Cheers for the new blog…off to check them out now :)…

    Like

  2. Congratulations – I have nominated you for The Computer Challenge! You can find the details here: http://tinyurl.com/lk2edvt

    Here are your questions:

    1.What is the Humble Store
    2. Name three email domains (@gmail.com, ect)
    3.What is phishing?
    4.What Browser does Apple produce (hint: it’s a safari to find the answer)
    5.Who makes the Galaxy S range of smartphones?
    6.What does .org stand for
    7.What type of website does WordPress.com host?
    8.Does RAM store data?
    9.What are Twitter and Facebook?
    10.Who designed Mac OSX?

    I will admit that these maybe slightly harder, but have a go! I (or Tom) will send you a little badge to show on your blog when you complete the challenge.

    If you don’t wish to take the challenge please pass it on to someone who hasn’t done the challenge

    Enjoy!
    -WillfromTechnoTeamBlog

    Like

Leave a Reply

