Home, lavender products and the absolute best of market finds!

After 2 weeks of cold and rain we have a most beautiful autumn day here so I popped out and took some photos of the “hood” πŸ™‚

This photo shows our wee valley, we are in the first row of houses opposite the vineyard and amongst trees.

Image

New Zealand, home to 4 million people and over 30 million sheep πŸ™‚

Image

Winter is creeping up.

Image

We managed to finish our lounge but haven’t finished putting everything back or all the pictures back up. This is it though, it’s actually a pale coffee colour which isn’t showing very well. We are really happy with it. It ended up costing around $290 to de-stipple the ceilings, replaster and finish/paint, put in downlights and paint the walls, windows etc. A big job for Roger but I did help with the painting and the shifting of way too much “stuff”

Before:

Image

After:

Image

Last weekend we had to go to Nelson for Roger to attend an apt and got there early to have a look around the markets. It was only 30 minutes before they were due to pack up and I asked one woman how much she was asking for some cake tins and a retro dinner set Β – just being nosy really as I thought they would be too expensive. “Fill a bag for $1, I don’t want to take this stuff home” she said handing me a pile of supermarket bags. After a brief discussion with me clarifying she actually DID want people to take this stuff for so little…she then put the cake tins inside each other so we could fit more in a bag, we ended up with all this for $4.

Image

ImageImage

Β And some shameless advertising for my sister πŸ™‚ Jan owns a lavender farm in Carterton and have offered to put an ad here for her for any Kiwis interested in purchasing lavender oils or products from her directly. She sells oils. soaps, hand creams and lavender pillows and can be found atΒ lavenderabbey. Look at her gorgeous dog Rene!

DSCF5412

DSCF8135

There is very little going on in the garden right now, but Feijoas and Figs still coming thick and fast. Job today!

IMG_3602

28 thoughts on “Home, lavender products and the absolute best of market finds!

  1. I’m slightly (read “terribly”) Jealous at your finds at the market – looks like you had a lot of fun there! Love those casserole dishes, and the cake tins are like beautiful wee pieces of art!
    Feijoas and Figs make the most wonderful jams and chutneys – and a feijoa jelly is also a wonderful thing to have on hand!

    Your lounge is looking wonderful – Good on you getting rid of the 1980’s wallpaper and replacing it with clean paint – looks fabulous!

    You’ve done really well!!!

    Like

    • I was stoked with those buys Tara….I very much doubt I will ever find anything so cheap again and they are all so lovely!!!!

      Thank you. The photos didn’t turn out great but the room looks wonderful, we are really pleased with it.

      Like

  2. I love your valley!!!! Oh so lovely:-) I LOVE all your finds + 1 dollar that is a steal. You just have a “gift” for getting the best deals. I am terrible at that sort of stuff, but my husband is the skilled one in that arena.
    A lavender farm now that is a “dream” life:-) to be surrounded by that all the time. I know it must be a lot of work, but lavender every where-oh my I would be in heaven!!!

    Like

    • It’s very pretty here πŸ™‚ My sister’s lavender farm is very pretty but yes, I imagine an awful lot of work. They have animals there and chooks, vege gardens etc.

      I love to find cheap stuff but this would have to be one of the best buys we have had, so pleased with them. You can never have enough china (yes, don’t remind me of what I said after the quakes) ….or cake tins πŸ™‚

      Like

  3. Loved seeing your valley, Wendy! Now we need a photo with an arrow . . . I’d be tempted to nip over in autumn and raid those grapes . . .

    But those market deals! I’m in love with the chicken dish and the Blue Willow ware especially! I have a couple of very old tea cups and saucers and at least one coffee cup and saucer (remember when we didn’t have ‘mugs’?). No, I won’t remind you of what you said . . . I’m the same way. Some people just HAVE to have old china, don’t they? or it wouldn’t be as much of a home . . .

    Your lounge is looking lovely, too; well worth the work and expense, I’d think, as it will last you for ages . . .

    Does your sister only sell in NZ? I had a look and her farm looks so gorgeous . . . lavender AND animals; what’s not to love? I could smell the aromas from here . . . πŸ™‚

    Have fun with the feijoas and figs; I envy you (although after a full season of ‘putting by’, I’d be the first in line whinging about it all and not having a moment to myself . . . πŸ˜‰

    Have a great weekend; hope it’s not too chilly for you. ~ Linne

    Like

    • YES, I am over food at the moment lol. Sometimes it seems food is all I think about – I am so glad that it is coming to an end πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ I have two craft projects underway and that is soooo good to be doing.

      Contact my sister and ask her Linne, she won’t mind πŸ™‚ Isn’t it beautiful.

      If I put an arrow on a photo someone might come raid my china teacups…that’s not going to happen πŸ™‚ I love the chicken and cake tins too. The dinner set is not my normal taste in china but the cups are such a pretty shape and the covered dishes so nice…..the price just meant I had to buy it!!

      Not too chilly but have the fire going non-stop practically πŸ™‚

      Like

      • Wendy, whatever made you think I would come and raid your teacups? ( πŸ˜‰ )
        But, now that you mention it . . . lol I suspect we have similar teacups, actually, so I really don’t need yours. On the other hand, there is ‘want’, which is a different kettle of fish, isn’t it?

        Like

  4. Oh Wendy! I would kill for those willow tins!! No, truely – My heart skipped a beat!!! [Too many exclamation points?] πŸ™‚ The entire haul is a something to make the record books surely – fabulous! But those tins ……… sigh!!

    Your ‘hood is so beautiful – you must never leave there! Your lounge looks pristine! Roger is a gem and has done such a good job!

    I get in a visit to Carterton about every year or so – it is one of my favourite places in all the world and we all harbour a secret intention to move en-masse into the vicinity – next time I must go to your sisters shop – does she have one? I buy lots of essential lavender oil. πŸ™‚

    I loved reading this post and am so happy that you live with such beauty on a daily basis and also get such super-cool bargains! πŸ™‚

    Like

    • Good Morning πŸ™‚

      Aren’t they wonderful tins! I love them and they have taken pride of place on my shabby old sideboard πŸ™‚

      Yes, Jan does have a wee shop, you truly must go there when you get to Carterton and tell her I sent you πŸ™‚ It’s a lovely area. I can’t remember where I went last time I was up to meet her for lunch – the town before Carterton? They have some beautiful shops there and cafes, roadside stalls. It would be a lovely place to live.

      The lounge does look pristine! But the colour didn’t show up, it’s a light and warm coffee colour and looks really very lovely. Will look nicer once we get all the pictures back up but he has done a great job with a fair amount of cursing lol.

      Like

      • Ooops [blush] I was so carried away over the beauty of your tins I forgot to greet you…… GOOD MORNING WENDY πŸ™‚

        You must post a photo of the tins in pride of place so I can gush a bit more – a shabby side board sounds just perfect to me!

        The Wairarapa is a stunning place all round really – and Carterton and Martinborough are my two favourite villages. You have everything the heart requires on your doorstep and the beautiful capital city a mere 40 minutes away for trips to the markets, boutique shopping [lol!] fabulous dining, the stadium for rock concerts and cricket and other things and the fab theatre productions! [I should be in charge of tourism for them!] I do miss Wellington!

        Like

      • Lol.

        Ok, one day soon I will post a photo of my shabby sideboard for you πŸ™‚

        I miss Wellington too, terribly at times. I grew up there, moved here 19 years ago. I love the cultural aspects of Wellington and the outer regions, miss the native bush, the harbour – everything. I feel more me when I go back….I have never really felt Marlborough is home, it does nothing for me that feeds the soul, you know?

        Like

      • I do understand, though if I published a scenic view of my surroundings I am sure you would feel better about where you are….. it’s pretty grim down my end of town! Marlborough reminds me a bit of the Wairarapa, minus the snow-capped mountains – I guess its the lack of bush, vineyard country, farmland aspect…..

        It makes me happy to hear that you miss Wellington too – only those of us who love her understand that visceral ‘miss’ that occurs. I miss the bush and the birds enormously!

        Like

      • Oh yes, I am well aware we live in a lovely spot – I do appreciate it’s beauty. I go through to Picton sometimes for a drive just to see the bush and harbour and feast on it, there’s just something in the bush I need to feel which we lack here.

        When we first came here the property was pretty barren but it does feel alot greener now. I guess it’s just what you grow with you attune too and miss it when it’s not there πŸ™‚

        What area in Otago do you actually live? I have no idea!

        Like

  5. MUCH nicer πŸ™‚ I can also tell that it’s a lovely cafe au lait colour as well :). I swear my mum had a willow pattern cake tin just like one of those! I had completely forgotten about it till now :). “EMMM FIGS AND FEIJOAS!” πŸ™‚

    Like

  6. Love your Valley πŸ™‚ and it seems strange your Autumn against our Spring.. Love the finished look of your living room too.. And Oh I wished I lived nearer for those Lavender soups etc.. I get lots of mine from my Daughter’s Health Food shop who stock lots of natural products.. πŸ™‚ Don’t you just love Lavender fields.. and Love the Dog… πŸ™‚
    Talking of Figs… I saw a Fig tree in our local garden centre… it was a price though .. πŸ™‚ You look to have had a good crop…

    Its been good catching up again.. Hugs Sue xox

    Like

Leave a Reply

