Rain, rain and more rain

The past 4 days it has just rained. After months of none at all we have quickly become a quagmire in the garden, it’s been cold and miserable.

Garden:

Roger made a feed tray for the chooks from an old paddling pool frame (from his “collection of useful junk”) The fence is really high and a bit awkward for me to undo so I generally tip food over it, ok when it’s dry but not when muddy.Image

Before any bale of peastraw gets to the garden the chooks get to enjoy it for a while, pecking insects out and whatever out.

Image

Roger has been repotting boysenberry plants that have rooted. Shoots self root and can be cut from the parent plantImage

He took this photo to show me his wonderful compost under his 2 yr old branches left in a pile down the back of the garden.

Image

This is a carrot he left to go to seed. He hasn’t done this before but instead of collecting them he prepared some earth then shook the large seedheads everywhere. He is hoping they grow this way….?Image

Kitchen:

Shameful bragging – look at the size of our figs this year!! This is a decent sized avocado next to this one.Image

I have been drying any excess as they come in, there is not enough yet to bottle. Figs really only last a day or two before they spoil, we had our first meal of buckwheat pancakes, bacon and honey grilled figs and it was good!!!!Image

Drying herbs at the same timeImage

Making more chutney and a large jar of onions.Image

Image

I keep a pail of wild bird seed on the porch and mix it with fat left in the roasting tin for the birds, the chooks also love it. This mix costs $7 for a large bag at the supermarket but a local seed and grain place sells it for only $3.30. Β Apparently irresistible to a certain cat.Image

Image

Home:

A month or so ago I wrote a post about thoughts of leaving here. We have each decided we want to stay put πŸ™‚ We’re too old to start over and we are rooted here when it comes down to it πŸ™‚ We have thoughts of how we can earn some income from here but won’t mention those just now, a “one-day plan”. Next weekend, Easter, we are going to repaint the lounge after leaving it undercoated for rather a long time.

This bird’s nest is too tiny to catch a decent photo but we were amused to find it when Roger cut down the trees at the back. In the earthquakes last year our hot water cyclinder burst. We replaced it and Roger pulled the old one to bits to get a most lovely copper inner out. It was insulated with old wool that he put in a sack, this nest was made with some of it πŸ™‚

Image

This has been sitting on our front porch for ages, my son was going to throw it out. I grabbed it but never did like the black of it and one piece of cane was missing from the front.Β Image

I got bored the other day and decided to repaint this. Roger plucked a piece of cane from the back of a cane bookcase to fill the gap. I am not doing a great job but it will be better I hope than before…maybe? maybe not πŸ™‚

Image

Anyway, I think that’s all this week from Quarteracre. Keep warm those in the Southern Hemisphere and enjoy your Spring those in the Northern πŸ™‚

21 thoughts on “Rain, rain and more rain

  1. What lovely folk art on your little cabinet you’ve rejuvenated πŸ™‚ I love kitty having a nosh of the yummy fatty drippings you must have put there just for them. My gran used to make special seed scones for all the little tweety birds she had around her garden and they loved it. I remember nibbling on one once and found it not to bad! Wow! Look at those figs! Lovely meal you had with them by the sound of it.

    Like

    • We did have a lovely meal πŸ™‚ Kitty did enjoy that but Syd takes the cake. Our dog ate 2 of the dishes out when he came home πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ Ibirds would appreciate it anyway it came. have never tried birdseed cakes and never intend too πŸ™‚ I used to melt the fat with peanut butter and make cakes but figure

      Like

  2. We too are talking about tis block being our forever home (it makes a difference wen installing major investments like solar) as we both love the town and the location is good. There are changes coming with very local subdivisions planned but it would be hard to move given the work I’ve poured in to the gardens.

    You may end up with carrots like David Holmgren (founding father of permaculture) who proclaimed them a weed at his place last year. πŸ™‚ Mighty good weeds I say. And they should well grow as that’s wat would happen in the wild. I did hear though that if you have ueen Anne’s Lace anywhere in the vicinity that they will cross breed and shrink the size of your carrot roots. Just something to keep in mind if they are different than the parent plant.
    Adore your pickled onions jar too. What a work of art. Have you ever tried lacto fermented onions? Even easier than pickled ones and just as tasty. πŸ™‚ http://www.deliciousobsessions.com/2012/03/52-weeks-of-bad-a-bacteria-week-12-pickled-lacto-fermented-onions/ is the link if you’re interested. πŸ™‚

    I love touring your garden, even if only in the virtual world. πŸ™‚

    Like

    • That’s interesting….I don’t have Queen Anne’s Lace here though I don’t think. Roger tries lots of things this way but it’s the first time he hasn’t planted carrots in neat rows.

      You mentioned fermented onions another time and I will try them next lot. I want to try other veg too and have been thinking about it a while. Roger doesn’t like the sound of them but I figure there’s probably no reason to dislike them….he’s just alot more Typical Kiwi Fare -ish than I am. Thanks for the link…funny I was just looking at her fermented beetroot the other day πŸ™‚

      we always thought we’d grow old here, just sometimes wonder if we should up sticks but I don’t think that will ever really happen. Yes, you have put alot of work in making it what you want and need, that would be hard to leave.

      Like

  3. Mmmm . . . figs! I love ’em green or dried. I like to chop a bunch along with dark dates, then cook in milk with a handful of cornmeal. Makes a perfect breakfast! I think I used about a cup of the chopped fruit and got two good sized bowlsful out of it. Goat’s milk is best, but I generally don’t have access to it, so just use the usual store milk.

    That little cabinet is so cute! I would have rescued it, too. That blue is beautiful; I hope to see a photo once it’s all done . . .

    I also hope the rain and damp aren’t bothering you too much. We had a spattering Friday morning, but I missed it. Then snow yesterday morning, but gone by mid-afternoon. Snow forecast for Tuesday now, then up to +15 or 16C by next weekend. Here, one just never knows . . .

    Loved seeing your garden pics. all those lovely, lovely worms!

    Time for you to cocoon up with a book by the fire and sip a wee glass of lovely liqueur, isn’t it? πŸ™‚ ~ Linne

    Like

    • I am sitting here on my second glass by the fire right now πŸ™‚

      The rain doesn’t bother me too much, good excuse to stay inside and do “stuff”.

      Your brekky idea sounds yummy, I might have to try that myself. Sounds a satisfying way to start a winters day.

      Like

  4. Gosh you two are doing magnificently! The tatty wee cabinet is a thing of beauty – and now painted blue even more gorgeous. That could never be thrown away! The figs are looking yummy – I can’t remember when I last tasted one. The onions, the chutney, the herbs, the cat, the garden, the chooks….. just wonderful. I am really pleased to hear you have decided to stay. The work you have both put into this place needs honouring – it is your little quarter acre of paradise! Happy dance πŸ™‚

    Like

    • I am glad we came to the same decision, a no-brainer really πŸ™‚
      The little cabinet I was going to paint white and do decoupage with floral tissues but my other half thought that sounded weird so it’s going to be bright and funky instead.
      Thanks Pauline πŸ™‚

      Like

  5. I am so amazed that you get time to blog.. So many lovely things going on here.. I love Figs.. I wish we had the climate here to grow them.. I know all about Rain though… Last year was the UK’s worse ever on record with many parts of the UK flooded… fortunately we were fine.. But the garden got rather water logged..
    Wishing you a productive week.. πŸ™‚
    Sue

    Like

    • Yes, we saw your weather on the news, gosh I hope we aren’t in for the same. Our garden already becomes just mud for many months.
      Our figs are one crop we look so forward to…they sell here in the shops for $2 each which is crazy but people buy them.
      The blog is something I find hard to find time for sometimes and I don’t think I will be doing it forever but I guess I feel my learning experiences are worth passing on till I am just repeating myself with the seasons then I’ll stop πŸ™‚

      Like

    • Sue, there are figs that can be grown in pots (a friend in Victoria, BC, had a couple. If you get cold weather in winter, they can come indoors or into a greenhouse. She had lovely Chinese ceramic pots for them, quite large and on a base with casters. She could roll them from sunny patch to sunny patch and it made bringing them indoors much easier). I don’t have any idea what variety she had and we’re not in touch any more, so you’ll have to ask your garden shop or google it. ~ Linne

      Like

  6. It does feel good to make a decision to stay put when you are wondering if you should leave etc. If we a million dollars than I would move-lol, but that won’t be happening anytime soon! You have such a great place, it just looks perfect:-)
    I think you did a great job with the shelf=really cute!

    Like

Leave a Reply

