Nothing from the Kitchen today :)

Because Wendy decided to go on strike….no more preserving till the feijoas and figs come in. I figure I have a two to three week window to relax a bit in πŸ™‚ Actually the drop in temperature was making my body ache like crazy so I have been nurturing myself rather than pushing myself through it. It’s worked and I am feeling alot better.

There is little going on in the garden either right now. The pumpkins are dying off but they will stay where they are till the first frosts, we have found this gives much richer colour and flavour. The figs are still a wee way off and the feijoas are just starting to drop with one or two a day. Carrots, silverbeet, beetroot, beans and broccoli, one of the zucchini plants are still going. Roger has just planted broad beans for winter, parsnip went in a few weeks ago. The raised garden in the front needs emptying and planting for winter greens. Everything is slowing.

The feijoa bushes are laden

Image

Capsicums are nearly finished and waiting on chillis which are trying to grow amongst a rampant tomato plant in the glasshouse.

Image

I am not quite sure how the black ones happenedImage

That time of the year!!

Image

We have had 3 lots of visitors this past few weeks We have had family here to stay and Anthony and his lovely family to visit. Anthony is a like-minded blogger from Melbourne. We really enjoyed their visit and a chance to chat with others doing similar to us and we managed to glean lots of info on bees from them….we hoped they didn’t notice we know virtually nothing about what we are doing with them. Anyway… lovely times πŸ™‚

So, apart fromΒ cleaning my house so it is acceptable for visitors I have really been chilling a bit and thoroughly enjoying it. I have done lots of reading, listened to music, done a little sewing but haven’t finished my items yet.

When I listen to music Mittens will too, however he gets alot closer to the stereo than I get. One music loving feline!

Image

Β  A little drawing/painting for my granddaughter, the mermaid lover in the family and apparently these Β “really do exist” because she has seen photos of real ones on the internet. Not even close to Pauline’s standard yet πŸ™‚Image

One book I have been enjoying is James Wong’s Grow Your Own drugs, it’s wonderful and I intend to make a few of his recipes soon.

Image

And that’s all from me πŸ™‚

24 thoughts on “Nothing from the Kitchen today :)

  1. don’t you feel guilty , you deserve a break. That food storage you are creating is A LOT of work! I get exhausted looking at it + reading about all your work, so I can’t imagine actually doing the work:-)I do like the winter time here in our zone 5 since it is a time to “cocoon”, and work on creative projects. Attend to projects I can’t get to when I am so busy in the garden. I know mine is starting up here soon. The crocus are FINALLY blooming! My whirlwind will be starting here next week with getting all my cole-crops in the ground!
    That wood pile means quiet nights by the fire, and after all that work you deserve it!

    Like

    • I usually dislike winter intensely but I am welcoming it this year and looking forward to some periods of hibernation and quiet, relaxing creativity πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ Yes, it has been a very busy four months or so.

      Enjoy your spring, I shall be watching your garden grow and bloom along with all your beautiful photography πŸ™‚

      Like

  2. Mermaids ARE real! My 4 year old will most forcibly tell you so! πŸ˜‰

    I look forward to Summer every winter and Spring beckons loudly when it’s cold outside but by the end of Summer I am aching for the quiet time of burgeoning and putting the canner to sleep once again.

    Like

    • Oh yes, I hear you!!! And likewise. I Am over it lol, but next summer will be itching to begin again…tis very seasonal.

      I wonder if unicorns are too? Today’s kiddies are so much wiser than we were, aren’t they?!

      Like

  3. Ooh have you tried drying fejoas Wendy? I wonder what they’d be like? Do you wait till they drop before you harvest them and do they bruise? Love your wood pile as well. Must get a start on ours.

    Like

  4. I am pleased t hear you are looking after yourself – it is a priority! I love the photo of Mittens showing his musical appreciation………. I had music on today for the first time in ages and remembered that I( love music playing while I work – duh!!!

    Your grand daughter is a very good drawer – how old is she? I’m thinking there is a lot of talent there – unless you tell me she is forty-two, then there is no hope for her! πŸ™‚

    I have often wondered about that James Wong book – why do you like it and should I buy it?

    Like

    • You made me giggle Pauline, a 54 year old drew that – me πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      I love music and generally have it going all day when on my own. The book has easily found or grown ingredients, other ingredients are all economical to buy and it covers most areas of healthcare. They are simple to make, beautiful photography. I got this copy from the library πŸ™‚ There are things like Thyme & Aniseed Cough Drops, this just has sugar, water, aniseeds and thyme. Oat and Chamomile Bathbags for Eczema. Sage and Marigold Gargle for sore throats.

      Like

  5. Oh delicious Feijoas are superb! Beautiful picture and gorgeous cats, we just got adopted by Tabby now 5 months old, he runs the place, even the dogs scared of him!

    Like

  6. Be still my heart, Mittens! Those white fluffy feet are too cute! I LOVE your picture for your granddaughter. You are very talented, Wendy. So glad you are taking care of yourself – I don’t think people stop and do that often enough. Enjoy the quieter times! xoxoxoxoxox

    Like

    • He is a cutie πŸ™‚

      Thanks for that but not much talent needed for that, or shown πŸ™‚ She chose the picture and and just copied it onto a large piece of board.I think it’s ok for a 7 year old though πŸ™‚

      No, we don’t stop often enough do we? We rarely give ourselves permission to just stop and give body and soul some restoration time. I am guilty of that and the times I do I know it is way overdue and I need to take more care. Thanks xxx

      Like

  7. Sounds like you had a wonderful time with company! Love Mittens. What a cutie. While I have similar fuzzy buddies, mine prefer to lay on the laptop rather than the stereo. πŸ™‚ Question… what are feijoas? I am not familiar with them.

    Like

    • We did have a lovely time thank you πŸ™‚

      Cats are such funny creatures, I hadn’t had one for about 15 years before we got Mittens (I didn’t name him that by the way!) and I am enjoying him so much, had totally forgotten how intelligent, curious and calm they are. He doesn’t hunt birds either which is my reason for never getting a cat after my last one.

      Feijoas are also called Pineapple Guava. They have a soft fruit you scoop out with a spoon, a flavour like a well flavoured pear crossed with a guava.

      Like

  8. Awesome woodpile! I miss stacking wood; wish I could pop in and give you a hand . . . Mittens! well . . . you’re lucky I’m not close enough to help with the wood; you might be missing a kitty afterwards . . . πŸ™‚ Your Mermaid is lovely; and of course they are real! right up there along with Unicorns . . .

    Had to laugh at the book, though . . . but then I realized that you would have missed the first wave of ‘grow your own drugs’ LOL
    Looks good, though. ~ Linne

    Like

    • I enjoy stacking wood too πŸ™‚ I adore Mittens, he’s my quiet, ever present, loving little energy around the house. I would miss him if “someone” absconded with him Linne πŸ™‚

      Lol, when my son saw this book sitting on the coffee table he growled, with a “Mum, what the hell is this!!!!??? Lol, I had to show him the recipes to reassure him I wasn’t up to no good. How observant of you πŸ™‚

      Like

  9. I love your posts where you tell us about what is going on at Chez Rogdy. I love that mermaid. I bet your grand daughter adores it :). I am a bit jealous of all of your veggies but it makes me all the more stoic in making sure that we plant out what WE like to eat next year and start them from seed. Good to see you went on strike. A few weeks off does more for production than any kind of monetary bonus πŸ˜‰

    Like

Leave a Reply

