Homemade Berry Liqueurs

Ok, so I am cheating here. I still have quite a few months to go before my first ever batch of liqueur is ready, but a sip from it’s first bottling proved to be as good as I hoped. One sip knocks your socks off and has a beautiful, and not at all subtle, taste of fresh raspberries. And I was asked for the recipe this morning so here it is.

Any berry can be used for this. In fact this recipe can be used for many fruits, our next to try will be feijoas and there are two bottles of blackberry that have been started. I would like to try peach and apricot if I can get them soon. We have been lucky to be given homemade vodka to try these but any cheap vodka will do.

Liqueur is super easy to make but it is made in several steps, it needs to be strained twice in the first two months. Once through a strainer, the following month through a coffee filter. It is then (well, supposed to be) left for 6 months to mature.

Recipe can be halved for smaller amount.

1 kg (2.2 lbs) of fresh berries

3 cups white sugar

6 cups vodka

Prepare a large glass bottle or jar. This should be sterilised by cleaning well then putting in low oven for half an hour.

Place in berries, followed by sugar then pour over vodka. Label and date bottle. Store in a cool dark place or cover with a cloth.

Image

This has to sit for one month before it’s first straining. Shake regularly. The sugar will dissolve over time.Image

Strain through a fine sieve into a jug.Image

Bottles need to be sterile also. These lidded ones can be soaked in the sink with hot water and a couple of Campden tablets (used for wine making) Recycled wine bottles would do the trick here….we would never buy special bottles but got these free with a beer kit.

Image

Image

These need to sit for a month then have one further straining through a coffee filter or similar. After that stand for 6 months to mature fully. I am not sure I see that happening here… but I expect successive batches will make it!

Image

8 thoughts on “Homemade Berry Liqueurs

  1. Okay that looks amazing! Are you getting ready for winter? lol. I love to drink my wine near the fire with an old book when the snow is coming down! But that looks like it would be good sitting outside under the stars in the summer with some ice! I am more a wine + beer person, but that looks amazing to me. You had me with raspberries + the color just invites me to try that one:-) yum! Did you eat the raspberries after? I make homemade sangria and love to eat the fruit ,but you can’t eat too much-lol!

    Like

    • I like wine but thought I would have to try these. I forgot to add what to do with the fruit. Apparently you eat with ice cream or make a yummy dessert but I haven’t got that far….it’s sitting in a bowl for Roger to try because it alone tastes very potent lol. I will have to add whatever I do with it.

      I think it will make a very nice, and very small, warming drink in winter by the fire 🙂 Honestly, it’s good!

      Like

  2. Still not talking to you guys because you can actually distil vodka!!!! Oh the dreams (probably full of pink elephants but STILL! 😉 ) Looks amazing but I am begrudging giving you kudos because I am sulking… 😉

    Like

    • It’s not fair at all. That’s a pretty outmoded law and I am thankful we don’t have it. 5 months early I have already polished off a bottle of this, divinity in a bottle! I am making as much as I can because it has to last a long time and it clearly won’t 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

