Chocolate Almond Buckwheat Clusters

When Fran (from The Road to Serendipidity) posted her recipe for Narf’s Bolshie Blissful Buckwheat Granola Clusters I knew I had to try these. After going gluten free several month’s ago I was really missing the muesli I used to make. As always I have tweaked the recipe to suit what I had or made wee changes in the method. I did not use apple sauce or date paste as Fran did because I rushed to make these one morning before work and had neither on hand. This is a delicious cereal with the potential for many variations.

Specialty breakfast cereals similar to this retail here (NZ) for $12 – $16 a packet, way beyond my budget, or desire to pay that much! You need to make sunflower seed butter first for this  I worked out that both a batch of butter (around 2 cups)  and 1 batch of clusters at 1.2 kg cost me around $12 to make. The sliced almonds were purchased at a bulk store as was the buckwheat. I always have alot of sunflower seeds on hand anyway but these are also purchased from bulk bins.

My recipe:

3 cups buckwheat groats

1 – 1 1/2 cup almond pieces (or other nuts)

3/4 cup sunflower seed butter

1/2 cup ground sesame seeds

3 good tablespoons honey

1 tablespoon molasses (optional)

3 tsp cinnamon

1 tsp salt

1/2 cup coconut sugar

2 tablespoons cocoa

2 tsp vanilla

2 tablespoons coconut oil

2 cups chopped dates

Preheat oven to 320 F and lined a large roasting dish with baking paper. Mix the dry ingredients in a large dish/bowl.

Image

Mix the sunflower seed butter, coconut oil, vanilla and honey (molasses if using) and stir through dry ingredients, mixing thoroughly. The mixture appears quite crumbly but is ok.Image

Pour into oven dish and bake for around 15 minutes. Through this time the oils and sugars will combine to make a thick, sticky mass….you want this and it will dry out on cooking. BE MINDFUL TO STIR OFTEN, this would burn easily. After 10 minutes add the dates.

And at this stage I forgot to take photos!!

Once the mixture has started to dry out and appears crumbly again, but still sticky, remove from oven and leave to cool, tossing a few times. It will crunch up on standing and on stirring it will break into clusters.

Image

Fran got her recipe from Oh, She Glows! so here are three variations of the recipe to ponder on and then create your own 🙂

I expect any nut butter would work just as well as the sunflower seed butter if it’s just too time consuming to make your own.

15 thoughts on “Chocolate Almond Buckwheat Clusters

  1. I was going to make Fran’s recipe and then discovered I was missing several key ingredients, so still haven’t got there yet…. I shall write yours down – it sounds tasty and seems straightforward enough …. though I may come up with yet another version 🙂

    Like

      • Thanks Wendy, I came back to read Jess’ contribution – that sounds good too – guess there is no need to fret, just start mixing!! Like Robbie I’m really glad you have all your recipes easily accessible too – like an on-line recipe book! Fabulous 🙂

        Like

  2. I too made my own version of this. i whizzed up some macadamia nuts, some home dried apricots and then mixed in with the buckwheat, some whole whizzed up apples and honey. I ended up making an 8x batch all up although I burned a few. Still, waste not. The chooks LOVED it too! I didn’t have any sunflower seeds (ripe and peeled at least) so no nut butter in mine either but a little extra honey (made up for no other sweeteners).

    Like

  3. You are so resourceful:-) I just checked to make sure you have all your recipes on your site YIPEE-you do!!! I can get them later when I have time. I am so busy starting seedlings for myself and other people that I am not cooking that much lately:-) I am enjoying it since I get to spend time with little plants!:-) You have a talent for photographing food, love the green dish-pretty picture and makes me want to eat some! I find people and food difficult to capture:-)

    Like

    • Why thank you 🙂 Yes, all my recipes are here. You will be pleased to have Spring getting nearer and that you can move on to your seedlings, that’s a nice part of gardening right there at the beginning 🙂

      Well, I’m learning to at least make it presentable rather than just chucked in a bowl or jar …have to make an effort here lol.
      I have very little matching china but a mishmash of pretty ones I find on my journeys for next to nothing, I like it that way 🙂

      Like

  4. This recipe is easy to customise to whatever you have. I guess its predominately the buckwheat and something sticky and something nutty and something creamy all whacked together “bish-bash-bosh” and dried out in the oven till crunchy and scrumptious. I can’t see a listing for how many almonds you used? I plan on giving your recipe a try ASAP :). You can make this cheap (like I did) or the sky is the limit to be honest 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

