Yesterday’s Harvest

Roger was very excited to put together this ‘shot’ for the blog 🙂 He then picked strawberries, zucchinis, silverbeet  that didn’t get photographed.

Image

Our garlic. We only grow a little ourselves, we are really fortunate to have friends who work on a crop growing farm who are allowed to glean after the garlic/corn/pea harvests and who pass some on to us, all the garlic for pickling comes from them.

Image

And because some of you have mentioned it would be nice to see a photo of Roger and he Ok’d a wee one, here is Mr QuarterAcre Lifestyle a few years back, the first summer he grew a garden. He didn’t realise I had a camera and looked up saying “Oh man, I grew potatoes!!” He’s come a long way 🙂 🙂IMG_0358

28 thoughts on “Yesterday’s Harvest

  1. RT says:

    You got a great day’s haul! What are you going to do with the garlic? I had to look up silver beet – it’s chard! That’s not something I normally eat but my daughter is working on converting me…we write it down on the calendar when I eat a “green” without complaint.

    Like

    • The garlic I just use in cooking, we love it. I often put Chard in brackets when I write of silverbeet so people know what I am talking about but did this in a rush this morning. I used to despise it but eat it now, nice in quiches etc. Your daughter sounds good at keeping Mum good lol.

      Like

    • Try using chard to make cabbage rolls; easier, ’cause you don’t have to steam it first. My Mum lays the leaf down on a cutting board and with a sharp knife cut a long ‘V’ to remove most of the stem. Then she adds the filling and rolls the leaves into cute parcels, lays them in a pan and bakes as you would with the cabbage variety. I think water or something is added in there, too.

      Like

  2. I am a bit scared now…Roger bears a striking resemblance to Steve! Maybe he IS Steve’s long lost brother! I always said that Steve’s mum pinched him from the gypsy’s (and couldn’t give him back when she realised he was a handful as they had moved on quick smart 😉 ). LOVE the haul and love the possibilities and love that you are sharing how to do it with us all so that we can be penniless hippies with hope. Nothing like hope to keep you going. The world can be falling down around your ears but so long as you have that little glimmer of hope in front of you, like a little candle, you can keep moving forwards :).

    Like

  3. I LOVE your beans!!! Well jealous there! 🙂 Mine are very VERY reliant on a LOOOOONG summer but since everything was so late here I am hoping the late start to summer means a late finish. Otherwise, no beans for this hippy.
    I scored HUGE on onions and garlic and if it stores well then I reckon we’re self sufficient in those two veggies at least. It’s a start. 🙂
    Great photos and looking forward to more. 😀

    Like

  4. Do you like Pesto? That is all I have left of my garden right now in January. I did not make enough! I have 5 frozen containers + my husband hates it-lol-more for me!It sure tastes good in the winter with warm pasta:-) I’m off to get some now from the freezer. I feeze mine and make it with almonds…I can’t afford the pine nuts. I heard that you can use walnuts, I never tried that before, but I might this year.

    Like

    • OH….WOW!! Thanks so much for that. I do pickled garlic and put it off for weeks and weeks because it can take 2 days to peel it all! This I will try, thanks so much 🙂 Woo-hoo, I would be rapt if this worked that easy!!

      Like

Leave a Reply

