We bought 2 freezers for $1 – or less

For month’s we have been looking out for a cheap freezer, and it needed to be cheap! We have one upright one and a fridge freezer, this isn’t enough for what we need to do this year. Last week Roger had said that our hogget was due and we discussed again that we need another freezer…it ended with me saying “Something will come along, it always does” and we left it there. Narf (another blogger) and I had this conversation several months ago, when we need something it strangely arrives, somehow. Sometimes it takes a gamble, it may pay off – or it may not!

Friday evening I was absolutely shattered, I haven’t been sleeping well with the heat and had had my granddaughter all week, I was a weary Nana. I went to bed at 8 pm leaving Roger looking on an auction site for a freezer, nothing cheap there he tells me. “Ok” I reply “I am off to bed, darling can you guys (meaning him or the dogs, because it’s a rare morning one of them doesn’t wake me at some ungodly hour) not wake me in the morning, I need a decent sleep”. “Sure” he smiles πŸ™‚

Saturday morning,Β 5 am, Β Wendy is dead to the world……….”Sweetheart, wake up, I need you to help me with something”

I open my eyes and stare at him, notice the sweetly apologetic look on his face (and the fact it’s still dark) as he says “Sorry :(”

I turn over onto my tummy, put my head in the pillow to stop me yelling. “What?!”

“There’s 2 freezers on TM for $1 buy now, they just want them taken away. They’ve been stored for ages but were going. They’re only $1!! I can’t buy them on the computer, you need to use your laptop and get them for me”

I turn over, look at the clock, turn back, face into pillow “Why can’t you use your computer?”

“Because I haven’t been able to log in since we changed providers” he says matter of factly “I think I have told you that before”

I sit up “What do you mean you haven’t been able to log in since we changed providers? It doesn’t make sense?!! You must be spelling it wrong”

“NO, I AM NOT!” all defensively “It’s only happened since we changed providers, you didn’t sort it on my computer”

“I DIDN’T NEED TO, I changed it on site! YOU MUST BE SPELLING IT WRONG!!!

He sighs, looks at me as though I am truly missing a great point – that he has been extremely patient with me over the fact that I have neglected to do something important for him on his computer but he doesn’t want to argue about it right now “Do you want to get up and buy 2 freezers for $1 because we need them”

Ok, yep, we need them and he can’t spell to save his life, so I shall get up at 5 am because if he’s willing to take a gamble and go to the trouble of hauling 2 freezers onto the truck and all the way home to see if they work, I can get up and help him. SIGH!

“What are you going to do with these things if they don’t work” I ask as my dressing gown goes on

“One of them should go, the other I will make your cold store in the garden πŸ™‚ :)” A bribe. When I mentioned this idea a year ago he was horrified I expected him to dig a “bloody great hole in the garden big enough to house an old freezer!!”

So, I get on my computer, read the ad which sounds promising – possibly 2 functioning freezers, buy them for a dollar.Then I ask Roger to show me why he can’t log on on his computer – an old geriatric desktop he clings to because he can’t figure the lap top out.

You know the automated addresses that come up when you log in on sites? Yep, for 10 months he had been trying to log in with a misspelled new email address. “Sorry” he says again with the same angelic, apologetic smile 😦 “I’m really sorry I ruined your sleep in 😦 Would you like me to make you a coffee now you’re up?”

Later that morning he goes in, gets a friend to help him get these things onto the truck. Tries to give the guy his dollar and is told he wants nothing but to have someone take them quickly as he is leaving the area. He brings them home, plugs them in while still on the back of the truck to see if they go because……to get them downstairs is going to require a mammoth task because he dug up the bottom drive to extend his vegetable garden which is now in full summer growth. We no longer have the back property access we had when we moved here and just had a normal back yard like everyone else.

The outcome? Two working freezers. They’re old, one is very shabby, they both need a good clean up but they are in good working order and the seals are good. Now, we just have to get them installed down the very bottom corner of the house in the laundry. This will not be my problem thankfully πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ I can haul large secondhand windows for a glasshouse AND DAMAGE MYSELF DOING IT, but freezers are beyond me.

13 thoughts on “We bought 2 freezers for $1 – or less

  1. Good find! I bought our last freezer for $5 from someone who was moving and just wanted it gone. It is also a little shabby and needed a lot of cleaning, but it works. But you win – your deal is even better.

    I will still save to buy a newer more efficient freezer at some point. Both of mine are old and probably cost more to run than a more efficient one would.

    Like

  2. Great post Wendy! I saw you with the pillow over your head and Roger looking pleased but guilty all at the same time ….. πŸ™‚ Have to say worth it though, huh? Great find!! See the universe at work ….. I hope to hear more about the freezer in the garden scenario!

    Like

    • lol, absolutely worth it and though I am quite grouchy in the mornings at the best of times and even more so this particular morning I did, and always do, appreciate his efforts πŸ™‚ and that yep, that the universe provides πŸ™‚
      Yes, I hope to hear more about the freezer in the garden scenario too!

      Like

  3. What a great find! Yes, I have to say, it’s worth getting up at 5am for them, too. But I would have yelled about it, I think . . . the spelling would likely frustrate me more. πŸ˜‰ But how exciting! and just think; if one quits working, or you manage to replace it with a super-efficient model, you can bury it in the garden; I never thought of using a freezer for a cold store . . . great idea! Hope you found time for a nap in there somewhere . . . and thanks for the laugh; I, too, can see you with your head under the pillow . . .

    Like

    • Yep, a great find πŸ™‚ Oh yes, FRUSTRATING… but he is hard to yell at, the expression on his face is usually very earnest and he is so well meaning πŸ™‚
      I saw the freezer cool store on another site and thought it was such a great idea but I guess only if he could manage the hole πŸ™‚

      Like

  4. I was happy when I found a beautiful freezer for less than $100 after more than a year of waiting, but Roger sure beat me on his find. Congratulations I would definitely take 2 free freezers even needing a good bit of elbow grease.

    How you told your story had me laughing, I could just picture Roger having a conversation with himself before waking you. Do I? Don’t I? Here I go….

    Like

  5. I think Roger is Steve’s long lost brother! I LOVE the bribe ;). “Good try Roger…but no banana!” ;). I am holding my arms up to the universe…narf7 is “blissed out”. “CHEERS UNIVERSE”. Its all true and we aren’t just crazy old hippies :). The universe looks after it’s own, only demanding the odd lay in ;). Just think of all of that extra space you will have for freezer preserving! πŸ™‚

    Like

    • I am stoked with these, what a score!! Got over my dismay at being woken up so early – made better when we found they work!! Not flash but they’re freezers. Yes, Roger is not above the odd bribe lol, he’s quite good at it really πŸ™‚

      We just knew they would arrive somehow, everything always does…it’s true πŸ™‚

      Like

Leave a Reply

