Beer Tempura Vegetables

Image

An economical and delicious way of dressing up ordinary vegetables, this is a perfect scratch meal that’s sure to please. I have made these quite a few times over the years but made up my own batter recipe as I have often not been entirely happy with past efforts, this is just perfect. Light, crunchy and golden. Normally we have this late summer and use capsicums, broccoli, pumpkin etc but this time I just used what I had in the fridge – nothing startling but it was very good. The zucchini flowers are excellent this way. And usually it’s served with sweet chilli sauce but I have run out so we had it with chutney.

Chop whatever vegetables you are using and spread out on a board to dry for at least 30 minutes. They must be dry for the batter to stick.

IMG_3195

Batter:

3/4 cup white flour

1/2 cup cornflour (corn starch)

1 tsp baking powder

1 egg

1/2 tsp salt

Chilled Beer (approx 3/4 stubbie or can)

Olive Oil (this can be strained and refrigerated to use again)

Mix the dry ingredients, add the egg and 1 cup of beer. Mix well and add more beer until it is a batter similar consistency to a thinnish pancake batter. It needs to coat thinly but be thick enough to stay on whatever you are coating. Leave to stand 10 minutes.

Heat about 3 cups of oil in a pot, about 3 ” deep. Turn on warming drawer or oven as this needs to be cooked in batches and kept hot. Toss vegetables one batch at a time (maybe 10 – 12 pieces) and fry just a few minutes till a rich golden colour. Repeat process till all cooked. These keep well while being kept warm and do not go soggy….they are also great as leftovers. I made twice this amount on the plate.

Heat

31 thoughts on “Beer Tempura Vegetables

  1. There ought to be a law against publishing recipes like this first thing on a Sunday morning – now all I can think about is beery tempura veges …… I used to have one of those table top cooker thingys back in the 70’s [or possibly the 80’s – can’t remember any more] – we’d heat the oil in that and eat as we cooked ……….It was fun! Did you do that?

    Like

    • lol, you may have to try some πŸ™‚

      No, I don’t have one of those but it sounds a very handy idea. This is one of the few things I make that requires a good while of standing over a stove, I prefer to chuck things in or on and walk away.

      Like

      • It would be frowned on these days – hot oil, candle flame, kids, forks, cooking – we did it on many occasions without an incident! PC-ism has taken all the fun out of life!

        Now that I’m thinking about it – it was actually great! We took our time eating, the girls learned about cooking, ate their veges and we had long conversations about all kinds of things……. I must see if I can find something like that again – it was a fondue pot – they are still around for melting chocolate in for dessert dips, but those are too light weight and small for oil ….train of consciousness going on here Wendy πŸ™‚ If you had one you could sit and cook and Roger would cook his own too – great fun!

        Like

      • Oh, a fondue pot! πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ Fruit in hot chocolate, vegetables in sauces are my memories of those. I often do see them in thrift shops and am thinking now of getting one. Our most favourite meal is just getting crackers or a nice loaf, cheese and whatever else and putting it all on the coffee table to make as we eat. Its a very companionable way to feast and very relaxed…I like it far better than me cooking πŸ™‚

        Like

  2. NOW you are talking ma’am! Beer…fried things…crispy batter bits to feast on while you are cooking and this recipe is most definitely going to be made ASAP on Serendipity Farm. I can even whack an egg sub in and make it vegan! I haven’t had a veggie fry fest in ages and I reckon I am due one don’t you? πŸ˜‰

    Like

  3. I’ve added this to my pile of recipes for one day . . . dunno what I’d do with the 10+ leftover beers is the problem. Yes, I know . . . πŸ™‚ now, if I had a bunch of men around the place . . .

    I’d heard also of stuffing the male squash flowers before battering them into submission . . . have you tried that? I’d use the same stuffing I use for chicken and mushroom caps. Oh, I wish I lived in sniffing distance of you . . . I’d have been right over . . . πŸ˜‰ thanks, Wendy; a great idea!

    Like

Leave a Reply

