Turmeric for teeth whitening.

I found this on the internet a few weeks ago. I have thinning enamel on my teeth so they are sensitive, commercial whiteners are too harsh for me and I can’t afford unnecessary dental care so thought I would try this, I have tried it several times….I’m sold!! This is effective, very gentle on teeth and gums and costs just a few cents each time. The only drawback is that it is messy to use and will stain anything it falls on so care needs to be used to guard against this. You will need to use an old toothbrush as it stains them.

Image

Mix 3/4 teaspoon turmeric with a very little amount of warm water, just enough to make a stiff paste. Brush teeth for one minute or so, holding an old towel under your mouth to catch any dripping. Rinse mouth out and clean with toothpaste as normal.

There is a video here which I watched before using it, from Secrets of Longevity.com http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ffYTPtnA1ykΒ This is the before and after photos he uses.

33 thoughts on “Turmeric for teeth whitening.

  1. I agree with above-INTERSETING!! I need to try that too..forget those strips or whitening toothpaste! You find the most interesting things that I never would of known unless you posted it!:-)

    Like

    • Lol. Well, the thing is we have little money (like many others) so if I need something it has to cost next to nothing. I guess one could argue white teeth are not necessary but I like my teeth and everyone else’s seemed whiter than mine, it frustrated me πŸ™‚ I have been looking for something like this for ages, tried strawberries to no avail. Let me know if you try it.

      Like

  2. As a longstanding vegan I have been ingesting turmeric in Indian food for many years and its good to see it getting the credit that it deserves. I wouldn’t have thought to try tooth whitening with it becuase, as you so rightly point out, it stains the living bollocks out of any and everything it touches ;). I had badly stained teeth (cheers tea, my longstanding hedonistic indulgence) and discovered neem toothpaste at my health food shop completely by accident when they were throwing it out on clearance and the price of mouthwash had made me twitch. The first day I used it my teeth glowed…I am completely sold but turmeric is even cheaper so might give it a go as well :). Cheers for the great share which I am going to Pin now to share with everyone else πŸ™‚

    Like

    • It’s funny how it has the opposite effect on teeth but it does. You have to keep it from skin and rinse off quickly. I love my coffees so my teeth do get stained. I am going to make some more coconut oil and baking soda toothpaste as the weather is so warm it will keep soft, I know that is good for stains too. The herbal paste I have tried here has been useless for that.

      Like

  3. As an ex-smoker and a coffee drinker (only 1-2 cups a day but none the less) my teeth are less than the pristine white they could be. I know turmeric is pretty much the wonder drug of the non-pharma world but of course its grow-at-home availability (for those in warmer climates than I) and its cheapness means pharma will keep it quiet. Why plug a cheap homemade remedy when expensive chemical options can be flogged. πŸ˜‰
    I think i shall give this a try. I too have had sensitive teeth for years but I’d rather need to be careful eating icecream than use those sensitive tothpastes (with questionable effect) with their chemicals. I use coconut oil and bicarb to brush so I reckon adding a little turmeric into the mix means I can whiten a little every day. πŸ™‚ I dont know that its mess would be reduced though.

    Like

    • Actually, putting it in with the coconut oil might work really well, I will try that too. I think you would find this works very well. I cannot/will not use those pastes either – I think they would be really damaging to enamel let alone their list of ingredients are not pleasant reading.

      Doctors and dentists don’t tell you anything like this, we need to research for ourselves. My hope is to never need to go to either again, I have little faith in their medications and would prefer to research at home other alternatives nowadays!

      Like

      • Sadly I must return to see a dentist and very soon. I had 2 adult teeth never develop and the baby teeth have been there doing their thing and slowly slowly falling apart for 25 years longer than they were meant to. I had my first top 2 year old molar extracted just as Allegra’s were coming through and the other one has spent the last week coming out in pieces. I need to get the rest of it extracted but bugger me if they will be injecting any anaesthetic for this one either (the last was pulled out with none as well). And before you think I’m some pain freak like the dentist in Little Shop of Horrors, the roots of both teeth are/were very loose. πŸ™‚
        Still, I have, in my research into the common weeds in my back garden, managed to come across a substitute for opium. It might be a good chance to give it a try. πŸ˜‰ Wild lettuce salad anyone? πŸ˜€

        Like

      • That sounds very nasty and you are braver than me! I have a dentist phobia so the prospect of pain fills me with horror.

        Yes, do try the wild lettuce and please do let me know how that goes for you πŸ™‚ I wonder how much of it you’d have to eat?! Sounds interesting lol

        Like

      • Sounds vile actually. It’s apparently very bitter and I’m not sure if you could physically stomach enough to have an effect. Still, if ever I need major surgery in the future… πŸ˜‰
        I have a hatred of needles, most particularly and specifically the ones from my gorgeous Greek-adonis pupy dog eyed dentist. I will avoid anaesthetic injections in my mouth at all costs. At est he provides a decent distraction from the pain. πŸ˜‰

        Like

  4. I tried it! Twice. The first time I didn’t use enough and saw little difference, but enough to want to try again. So this morning I used the whole lot [and didn’t make too much mess] and my goodness, blindingly white pearlies! My teeth are pretty white anyway, I’m lucky that way – but I have one, [right at the front wouldn’t you know it!] that had the root extracted years ago and which is/was a slightly greyer shade of white ….. not any longer πŸ™‚ I’m sold – and I think that idea of mixing it in with the coconut oil and baking soda is worth a shot too – have you tried it yet?

    Like

    • Oh good!!! πŸ™‚

      No, I haven’t tried the coconut oil yet but planning to today. You are lucky to have white teeth. Mine aren’t too bad but after years of smoking and coffee they aren’t as good as they could be. I am so pleased it worked for you πŸ™‚

      Like

  5. Amazing! I have long known the healing properties of Turmeric, but didnt know of this usage.. I will be trying this out as I too have thinning enamel and sensitive teeth.. Wonderful post.. Thank you for passing along..
    Sue

    Like

  6. Drat I just bought a teeth whitening kit from the dentist yesterday and almost choked on bleach. I’m going to buy turmeric and try it, thanks for passing this on (not sure I’m game to show you my teeth though!)

    Like

  7. Vanessa says:

    I saw that youtube video too and thought it worth a try. Just bought a supermarket own brand jar of turmeric, really cheap, and a couple of really cheap basic toothbrushes as I didn’t want to ruin my one.
    I just dipped the wet toothbrush into the jar and tapped the excess off rather than making a paste. Got to say it worked brilliantly, ok the taste isn’t great but it’s not vile and you soon get rid of it when you rinse.
    Can’t believe the difference after just using it once. My teeth are so much whiter and they feel so glossy too. Just like they feel if you’ve had them polished at the dentist. Can’t stop looking at them in the mirror now.

    Like

    • I am rapt with it too and honestly, the taste isn’t great but neither is the taste of a mouthful of chemicals ay πŸ™‚ And this doesn’t even cost a few cents, I am so pleased I found it. Thanks for letting me know here πŸ™‚

      Like

Leave a Reply

