Green Omelette with Avocado Salsa

I found this recipe in Dr Libby Weavers book Real Food Chef, The Power of Plants.

The omelette is full of baby spinach, parsley and peas and topped with avocado, tomato, red onion and seeds. I could eat this every night, it’s truly very good and takes only minutes to make really. I especially like that we grow all this ourselves with the exception of the avocado and seeds.

Image

Recipe is for one serving.

Omelette:

3 eggs

2 cups baby spinach leaves

1/4 cup fresh parsley

1/2 cup cooked peas

1/3 cup milk (I used nut milk)

Salt and pepper to taste.

Heat some oil, butter or coconut oil (your preference) in a non stick pan. Whisk the eggs, milk and seasonings, add the peas and parsley. The recipe suggests steaming the spinach tilled wilted but I just put it in the pan to wilt before pouring the eggs over it. While this is cooking make the salsa.

Avocado Salsa:

1 tomato, chopped or several cherry tomatoes halved

1 avocado, chopped

red or green onion to taste

chopped coriander (cilantro) optional

salt and pepper

Seeds of choice eg, sesame, pumpkin, sunflower

Mix together the tomatoes, coriander, onion and seasonings. Gently combine with avocado.

Once the omelette is cooked remove from pan to plate. Top with salsa and sprinkle desired seeds over (I used pumpkin and sesame)

Enjoy.

6 thoughts on “Green Omelette with Avocado Salsa

  1. Even though it’s only just breakfast time, I would like to be eating this right now – all my fav ingredients, except for the coriander [I’m one of those odd people who can smell it a mile off and have a bad reaction to it]

    I do make an omelette very similar to this already, but have never added the salsa – it is definitely a must try!!

    Like

  2. I had something similar for supper tonight, but no salsa. I should have had this recipe a few weeks ago when I got four avocados for $5 (a real deal here). I ate them on slices of bread with mayo, sliced onion and a topper of lettuce so I could hold one in my hand while reading without it coming apart 😉 Next time they are on sale, I’ll try it your way. MMmmmmmmm ~ Linne

    Like

Leave a Reply

