The New Domestics, and what drives them

An interesting read that will appeal to many who read this blog and others like it. Thank you Gather & Grow.

gather and grow

homeward-bound-emily-matchar-041013-margJust to be clear: this is not a book review. Yes, these thoughts were prompted by Emily Matchar’s Homeward Bound: Why Women Are Embracing the New Domesticity, but my main point is not to try to provide a balanced summary of the book itself. Let me just say that I found it mostly engagingly written and well researched, and I think it provokes some sobering and healthy reflection on gender and (to a lesser extent) class dynamics within the culture of earthy, homesteading DIYers. At the same time, something about the book really bothered me. I couldn’t tell if it was the author’s often sarcastic undertone as she portrayed the “New Domesticity” movement, or the fact that she presented a side of the movement that I don’t particularly (want to) identify with.

You see, on the pages of this book, someone like me can easily find versions of her…

View original post 497 more words

5 thoughts on “The New Domestics, and what drives them

Leave a Reply

