Heart stones, mosaics and pictures.

I seem to have developed a preoccupation for hearts. I mentioned last month I had tried mosaics for the first time and readers asked to see them…I still have to grout the last one so hadn’t shown photos yet. We learn (I certainly do!) by trial and error, the pink one was my first ever and pieces were too far apart, The second a little better, the coloured one much better but still unfinished.

I collect heart shaped stones and rocks, they are everywhere. I decided to cover some of these for my first mosaic efforts.

Image

Two paintings I did for my granddaughter’s room at her Dad’s. One has yet to have to words put on. I shamefully copied these from a beautiful artist whose work is on the net and to whom I am no threat whatsoever, so I do hope she never minds! In the original the fairy is blowing bubbles and I substituted with hearts.

Image

About six months ago we bought a secondhand sewing machine for $25. I can sew for haven’t for many years so have been looking at it with some anxiety about using the thing. But a couple of weeks ago I saw these pieces of fabric in a thrift shop and bought them, I had visions of a basket of homemade hearts with maybe lace and some hessian. I don’t know where this things for hearts has come from, funny how things just develop within.

IMG_3011

My mum died a couple of months ago, when I saw this set in a shop window I decided to treat myself to something new…it took me all of ten minutes to decide to buy them lol. These 3 hearts represent my mum, dad and sister who have all passed in recent years. They are enamel with birds and roses on.

IMG_3006

Two hearts I found at the beach on Saturday, yet to find their place. Not perfect but heart enough.Image

When we moved here Roger was building the new bridge down the road, he’s a concretor by trade. We had no money to spare and he felt guilty because he hadn’t got me anything for my birthday. At work that day he made me this. It was our first year together and I was very impressed by this! Few men on a building site would stop to make their wife a large heart. Apparently the comments of his workmates were to the tune of “Oh man….that’s cool dude”, and “Your missus is a pretty lucky lady, mate” with a pat on the back.

No one made fun of him but he wouldn’t have cared less anyway lol

Image

And just because I think this is pretty cool but apparently it has a hidden meaning for me only, lol, I am showing you my angel stone I found on the beach.

Image

28 thoughts on “Heart stones, mosaics and pictures.

  1. Oh lawd, I love your hearts! I especially love the ones that are not perfect, as our hearts tend not to be πŸ™‚

    Every paragraph you have written holds such a wonderful snippet of your life and who you are – it [almost] leaves me speechless.

    I really like your first mosaic. You say the pieces are too far apart, but I like that. I love the colour of the second one – anything in the greeny/blue range has my name on it at the moment!

    I’m sure you have said to me in previous comments you have no artistic ability – you were obviously fibbing – as making mosaics and painting [even if it is copied] show great artistic flair!

    The bits of fabric are gorgeous – I would have bought them too. I shall wait with bated breath to see what emerges [no pressure!]

    The three enamelled hearts are beautiful – what a beautiful way to keep the memory of your family close to your heart. My daughters and I each have a resin hedgehog on our kitchen windowsills. It is our secret link to each other.

    The imperfect hearts I love, the husbands heart is just so very, very special and says a lot about him! And your Angel stone is cool – I see her!

    Great post, thank you for helping to make my day really happy πŸ™‚

    Like

    • Aw Pauline πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      I am so glad someone else can see my angel because I saw her from some distance and she seemed so precious at that time.

      When I was younger I did alot of creative things but for some reason lost confidence, it has only been this past year I have been attempting to recover those aspects of myself. Everything I just see flaws in but have decided that’s ok, as my husband reminded me “it is in the process we find our joy”. He is a darling and yes, his heart does say alot about him.

      Yes, our hearts are not perfect πŸ™‚

      I like the hedgehog thing, that is very sweet.

      The fabric….mmmm, this may take some time lol, so yeah, no pressure felt.
      Thanks for your comments, made my day happy too πŸ™‚

      Like

      • Ah yes – the self critical voice – it has paralysed me for years!! Now I try to remember that while the Creative Universe is perfection, I am human and not there yet and what Leonard Cohen said about cracks ‘That’s where the light gets in’ πŸ™‚
        Random I know but it helps! πŸ™‚

        About 10 years ago I spent a year painting, then I went back to work and stopped. When I started again last year it was awful, I had lost the knack – I almost stopped again, devastated by the loss of the ability. It’s really only been my blogging friends words of encouragement that kept me going when I first started showing trepidatiously [is that a word?] bits from my art journal. Now I’ve got an Etsy shop πŸ™‚ Who knew!!

        So what I’m trying to say is keep at it, listen to your husband who is obviously a wise man as well as good! Keep him and keep at it!! πŸ™‚

        Like

      • You know what – I often say that saying to myself πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ It just reminds me I still have work to do! Look what can be made from a heart of stone and quake broken china πŸ™‚

        I think talent is a skill that is like fitness, easily lost and hard work to get back. I will have to go read your earlier posts!!

        Yes, I will keep the man and keep at it, thanks for your words of wisdom and support…much appreciated.

        Like

  2. I would say your love is set in concrete! πŸ˜‰
    Lovely and I love that last picture. Your angelstone reminds me of a baby rejoicing with its heart open (as babies hearts are) to love whomever is presented to it. πŸ™‚

    Like

  3. You old romantic you! I love the art (even if it is pinched πŸ˜‰ ) your grand-daughter will love it too. I am a stone magpie too. I can’t help myself. Steve sighs whenever we go to Paper beach because Tassie beaches are covered in smooth gorgeous stones and I take a bag…I end up having to get Steve to lug it back to the car for me and spend ages washing stones and arranging them in plant pots. I love your angel stone. It might have a special message for you but it’s lovely to the rest of us too and I can see the angel as well :). Roger is salt of the earth. I adore that concrete heart. Can’t use it as a special stepping stone somewhere? Might be gorgeous front and centre on a spiral garden? “Hearts” to you ma’am, have a lovely day πŸ™‚

    Like

    • Yes, aren’t I just !! πŸ™‚

      The concrete heart sits at our front door. We are both beach magpies, picking up stones, shells, driftwood. We both feel in love with a rather large piece of driftwood when we went on holiday years ago and Roger tumbled it all the way down the beach to get it to the tuck. I also have a complete petrified sea horse…normally stuff like that would revolt me but it’s beautiful.
      Hearts to you also πŸ™‚

      Like

      • I am the same way over stinky sea urchins… I HATE the roe and would rather eat someone elses feet than even consider eating it again but the stinky delights of a still drying out treasure are a different kettle of fish (quite literally πŸ˜‰ ). We found a chunk of driftwood in the shape of a whale bone and I HAD to have it so Steve had to carry it all the way back to the car (muttering all the way πŸ˜‰ ). Fair do’s the muttering as I had him hump a backpack full of smooth stones at the same time and we were 2km up the beach…do you like rumbled sea glass? I collect it and as Tasmanian’s are quintessential booze hounds and like to toss their empties over the side of their boats when they go “fishing”, lots of it gets washed up on the pebbly beaches making for perfect washed glass. I love finding blue glass it’s magic stuff πŸ™‚

        Like

  4. Love your hearts, all of them. I collect stones like that, too, also stones with a stripe right round them, odd coloured stones, especially any green jade-looking stones, etc. I’m like a wee boy when I go to a beach or into the woods; always coming home with jeans pockets full of ‘collectibles’. Often a bag or two, too. I have lots of beach glass in the BC storage, and old bones of various sorts, too. And feathers . . . I love moulting season. I do get odd looks but it’s worth it!

    I still have a huge piece of driftwood my older son collected after he left home. He was moving and was going to get rid of it, so I took it to my place. Now that he’s older and would treasure it more, I may give it back to him LOL. May . . . I like it; it reminds me of him and his lugging it up a very steep cliff to get it home.

    I love your angel rock, too. What an amazing design! But Roger’s heart with the two happy faces takes the cake. And how nice to hear his mates at work cheered him on; we forget sometimes that there are men like that out there; I’ve known a few myself, but sometimes it seems they are hibernating or something. Maybe they are all south of the equator? πŸ˜‰

    You ARE talented, Wendy! But I know what you mean about losing your self-confidence and having to get it back: I had a friend (she and her husband ran the storage in BC where my stuff resides) in Vernon, BC. I would drive up from Kelowna, where I was living for a few months, just to pay my bill in person and chat with her. We’d have tea and cookies (bikkies) and chat in the office; then we’d move upstairs and I’d help get supper. After supper and a bottle or two of nice wine, we’d chat the evening away. Then I’d be put up in the guest room, given a lovely breakfast and lunch and sometime in the afternoon I’d leave, most reluctantly, for ‘home’. Anyway, that’s the backstory.

    She had been married before, to an abusive man who put her down for her creativity, making fun of her painting, insulting it, etc. She gave up fairly soon. In high school, she was so good at art she was told to make a career of painting. They were right, too. but when I knew her, years later, she was married to a sweet and loving man who encouraged her to begin again. She did, but slowly. I saw some of her work and was very impressed. But even then she doubted herself. Still, she kept going and was planning to put a show together.

    After a few months, I moved back to the coast, but we kept in touch by ‘phone. One day she called me to say that her husband had had a routine operation, contracted one of those hospital infections, and passed away. She ended up moving to the coast to live with a brother and shortly after that I lost touch with her altogether.

    So, that’s the long story about losing and regaining confidence. I hope you continue to paint, do mosaics, be creative in any way that moves you. You have a kind and loving heart (maybe the influence of all those ‘stone’ hearts??) and such a creative spirit. I love to see whatever you work on. So please don’t doubt yourself any more, ok? Creativity is so good for us on many levels; I think we need to give everyone a chance to be creative in whatever way interests them.

    You are indeed lucky, as is Narfie, to have a man willing to carry your rocks, wood and other bits. Mine did, too. And did I mention shells? When I saw the photos of the ‘shell house’ that are posted on Jean Tubridy’s ‘Social Bridge’ blog (from Ireland, Co. Waterford), I thought of a great use for shells, if one had enough of them . . . the photo is here, if you are interested: http://socialbridge.wordpress.com/research/ You have to look down, way, way down . . . after the gorgeous photos of the Congreve Gardens . . .

    Well, I’d best get going. Hugs from Canada and I hope your garden continues to thrive. ~ Linne

    Like

    • πŸ™‚ I like Roger’s hear too and my angel rock.Thanks for all your comments and I can relate to the story of your friend….but what a sad thing for her lovely husband to die 😦

      It seems we are all a bunch of beach magpies lol. I will keep going with the things I do, I am sure I will only get better and no worse πŸ™‚ I have been away for a few days and not long home so I will check out your photo tomorrow night.
      Thanks for your wise words Linne, take care

      Like

      • I’m sure you remember that part of an artist’s training used to include copying from the masters; you are following an age-old tradition . . .

        Funny you should mention magpies; ravens are my bird and I regard crows, magpies, jackdaws, etc. as my cousins. Magpies are SO beautiful!! So you have just given us all a lovely compliment and I thank you!! (((((((O))))))) (them are hugs) πŸ˜‰

        Like

  5. I could not find your e-mail to send you your nomination for Very Inspiring Blogger..so I posted it here..you can e-mail me @ palmraepotager@gmail.com for anything you need…..Belmont rooster did a great job with the rules..you are an inspiration…good thing I found out you liked number 7 since I could give you number 7! was on six, so I skipped!You were on my list:-) Keep on inspiring us out here in cyber blogging…by the way where did you find all those heart rocks? that is a lot of them…I would think they are like a four leaf clover-lol You are a good artist,too I might add:-)

    http://thebelmontrooster.wordpress.com/2013/11/25/my-very-inspiring-blogger-award/

    Like

    • Tanks Robbie πŸ™‚ I will have to look more at this in the weekend as I have a flat out week.
      Thank you for the compliment and I search for heart stones everywhere but my husband finds more than me. We are surrounded by beaches and rivers…..I have them all over the house, this was just a little pile. I have big ones too! πŸ™‚

      Like

  6. Wendy, I adore your heart stones and your mosaics are coming along nicely. I have several rocks here, not all heart shaped but I think using paper for the mosaics would be a good winter craft for the little ones when the visit. Thanks for the idea. πŸ™‚

    You are quite talented at copying art, and I mean that in a nice way. I recently have been trying my hand at some painting and have been “borrowing” from the internet for ideas. I have yet to tackle anything quite so elaborate.

    Btw, I think your heart from your husband is lovely. I hope you display it proudly.

    Like

    • Hi Lois πŸ™‚ I adore my heart stones too, I have them EVERYWHERE lol. Paper mosaics sounds a lovely idea.
      I also love the one my husband made, it stands at our front door πŸ™‚
      I am getting better at copying and Pinterest is great for inspiration. I have a board of Girly Art that I collect for ideas. Thank you for the compliment πŸ™‚

      Like

Leave a Reply

