Almond, Quinoa and Pumpkin Seed Bread

A couple of weeks ago I posted a recipe for non wheat bread using oats and psyllium husk. https://quarteracrelifestyle.wordpress.com/2013/10/26/nut-and-seed-bread-flourless/

I wanted to try making one using quinoa and googled to see if anyone had already tried this…and yes, they had! This uses quinoa flakes, almonds (ground), pumpkin seeds, flax seeds etc.

Image

For the full recipe please see here http://deliciouslyella.com/almond-quinoa-pumpkin-seed-bread/

I have to be honest and say that though this is nice I found the taste of pumpkin seeds too overpowering for me personally, there is 1 1/2 cups of them in this loaf, most of them processed to a flour. But, that is just me and this recipe is one that could be adapted to taste. I also used the pulped and dried almonds leftover from milk and just a little less water. Though not as economical to make as the oat one this is a good bread that is lovely toasted.

19 thoughts on “Almond, Quinoa and Pumpkin Seed Bread

  1. Oooh Wendy, that photo is so delicious looking!

    I haven’t checked out the other blog – because what I get from reading your post is we can probably be quite creative with the making of this bread – I have already decided to have a go with a citrusy version – adding in lemon and orange peel and maybe some cherries instead of the dates.

    I’m looking for something special for Christmas and don’t want to use any sugar at all this year 🙂

    I’m loving the bread I made yesterday!

    Like

  2. Check this baby out…
    http://angiesrecipes.blogspot.com.au/2013/11/mega-healthy-oat-pearsauce-bread.html

    Cheers for the share. I am right into seedy things at the moment and although pumpkin seeds tend to go straight through, they add incredible nutrition. Maybe you just need to add a tbs or two of them so you can’t taste them but still get the benefits? Use milled sunflower seed meal. Much more mild. I make sesame milk (almonds are getting too expensive here) and have been fermenting the pulp left over but might use it in a loaf of this bread. Toasted you say? I am ON IT! 🙂

    Like

    • Yes, I thought sunflower seeds rather than pumpkin. We have ground pumpkin and sunflowers in our smoothies etc and that amount is fine but this was too much for me. I will try the sesame seed milk, that sounds a good option. Almonds are expensive here too but I am fortunate to still have 1/2 bin of walnuts I am wading through. I buy alot of seeds when they are on special and use alot, little nutritional power houses.
      I will have to check out my link, and thanks for others 🙂

      Like

      • Sesame seed can also be grown at home but I figure you would need a fair patch of it if you wanted to supply your own milk. That’s why I am madly planting out (well growing first THEN planting 😉 ) nut trees. Prices are only going up and if I can grow my own nuts, whichever do best here (probably walnuts, hazelnuts and chestnuts) I can always have a supply of “milk” and good quality carbs at my fingertips.

        Like

      • We grew heaps from the walnut tree on our property and nuts that I found under trees on fencelines. I did the same with hazelnuts from our neighbours daughter. Hazelnuts are the go if you don’t have much room as they aren’t big trees to start off with. Might be an idea?

        Like

      • We are out of room for another tree now and don’t want to remove boundary trees because they provide privacy but…who knows, something may come out sooner or later. Frustrating because there are so many things we’d like but 1/4 acre is 1/4 acre!

        Like

Leave a Reply

