Garden Harvest Vegetable Stock

Image

For some weird reason this got me all excited lol. I am intrigued by it – this is a very different way of making vegetable stock! I should call my blog Stumble Upon because invariably what I show in my blog is other’s ideas and recipes I have stumbled upon out of need for something. I am thankful to http://myovercrowdedgarden.blogspot.co.nz/2013/10/homegrown-vegetable-stock-mix.html for putting this on her blog.

I had been wanting a natural vegetable stock powder. Commercial ones are too expensive, the thought of having to dehydrate and muck around creating my own was sounding like a long drawn out process. This looks perfect to try. It has a large amount of salt which preserves the paste for 6 months. The other thing that appealed was this looked a good way to use some of the frozen vegetables left from last season that have not such a great texture but still taste ok. For this I used a combination of fresh and frozen and am hoping the frozen doesn’t cause any deterioration in the storage time so it is an experiment. 2/3 of the vegetables are fresh though.

Basically 950 g of vegetables (any combination desired) are needed per ration of 250 g salt. Plus the garlic, herbs etc.

For this I used:

200 g pumpkin

200 g carrots

200 g leeks

100 g spinach

100 g onions

A few sundried tomatoes and cloves garlic

A large handful parsley and thyme

250 g salt

Put all in a food processor and process until smooth. This may need to be done in batches and combined at the end. Put into sterilised jars and apparently this will keep for 6 months in a cool, dry cupboard.

I seriously need to find another processor! Mine was bought secondhand about 8 years ago and the blades are quite blunt, hence this didn’t get quite a smooth as I would’ve liked but close to.

Image

Use a couple of teaspoons in soups, stews etc and season after adding this and doing a taste test as it is highly salted.

13 thoughts on “Garden Harvest Vegetable Stock

  1. This is intriquing Wendy – please do a post later and let us know how it goes. My go to is a chicken stock that i make every 2 to 3 weeks and use as soup [a wonderful cure-all, think chicken soup for the soul] and as stock for anything else I’m cooking.

    Like

  2. This is great. I cook for a large group once a year and increasingly people with allergies to onions, garlic and leeks are cropping up. With this I can make my own stock concentrate in bulk and transport to the kitchen 🙂

    Like

    • Cool 🙂 I thought it would be such a handy recipe to have and as you say ingredients can vary to virtually anything desired. I used it last night in a stew and it added some really nice depth to it – I can see it will become a staple here 🙂 In the comments section is also a link to another using a slightly different method, but very similar, that I will also try. I am pleased you will find it useful 🙂

      Like

  3. Interesting…I turned my food processor into a geriatric (wheezing and slow movements and threatening to give up the ghost any day now) by attempting to make raw nut butter in it. 20 minutes of hard slog would make ME geriatric let alone a food processor with less than stellar parentage. I will give this a go in my vitamix. It does everything that a thermomix can do except it can’t ;). It CAN process things down to mush and that looks good enough for this recipe. I use Massell veggie stock and it’s excellent but whenever I feel the need to concoct something nutritiously full I am going to have a go at this. Cheers for the magpie share, they are ALWAYS the best kind 🙂

    Like

    • Oh, I would love a Vitamix!! I really need a new processor, mine is just not cutting it these days either. I have ruined god knows how many juicers and blenders – my last blender conked out when I attempted to make banana and mango icecream using bananas that were frozen solid. My darling does despair of my (apparently!) “rip, s..t and bust” way with appliances. It would be nice to have a juicer that can handle having apples and beetroot pushed in hard to get them going! Anyway….I digress, this is a great recipe and I think very handy! I used it last night in Roger’s meal and very nice.

      Like

Leave a Reply

