Probiotic Lemonade

IMG_2896

On searching for a lemonade recipe I found this http://www.aflockinthecity.com/2012/03/25/healthy-homemade-lemonade-packed-with-probiotics-and-the-kids-love-it/and decided to try it as I had yogurt separating in the fridge. It’s light, refreshing and a little effervescent, my husband and I are both enjoying it. This recipe calls for sugar but I noticed in the comments section someone has used honey and I will try this next time.

Lemonade:

12 juicy lemons

1/2 – 1 cup cane sugar (I used not quite a cup)

1 cup whey

water

1 gallon jar, sterilised

Juice the lemons and pour into jar. I dissolved the sugar in some water in a pan then added to juice. Add whey and top up with water.

IMG_2894

Leave on the bench for two days before drinking. I am now into day 4 and this still tastes really good.

A bonus, I got 2 jars of cleaning liquid from the peels 🙂  https://quarteracrelifestyle.wordpress.com/2013/06/25/diy-lemon-cleaning-liquid-and-firestarters/

13 thoughts on “Probiotic Lemonade

  1. Ooh this looks interesting 🙂 I wonder if I added some grated raw ginger whether it would make it even zingier? What’s your method of obtaining whey as I thought it was the liquid left over from making cottage or ricotta cheese?

    Like

  2. I just added a Kombucha Scoby to my fermenting routine and the initial liquid that comes from the brew tastes like ginger beer although no ginger goes into the mix. I would use some non-dairy kefir to culture this but aside from that I am going to give it a go as our wacky American conspiracy theory guy down the road just gave us a bag full of ripe limes. Time to make probiotic limeade and I am going to use date paste to sweeten it (and add more probiotics 😉 ). Cheers for the great idea. It’s getting close to when we Southerners only want to drink cold drinks and food is a step too far. Come January this might be all we want to “eat” 😉

    Like

    • Yeah, I think there are plenty of ways to adapt this. I am going to try some date paste, I really like the sugar but it needs softening before use which is a bit of a hassle.
      Lime is a flavour I cannot stand, but I hope you enjoy this.

      Like

      • These limes are really mellow as they are ripe and don’t taste “limey” at all. Lime = dead ants full stop! ;). The ginger was a good idea…Pinky has them often 🙂

        Like

Leave a Reply

