Lemon Sugar Scrub for hands

Image

I keep seeing this mentioned all over the net and when I came in from the garden this morning with grubby hands (that are also very dry at present) I decided to make some.

I have never tried sugar scrubs thinking they weren’t really my thing – I think I was mistaken. This is so nice to use I think I may have to find a body one for use in the bath!! It leaves hands soft and cleans very gently.

I got the recipe from http://adashofdomestic.wordpress.com/2011/11/30/lemon-sugar-hand-scrub/. It’s very simple to make, only takes a few minutes. A Dash of Domestic has a link to an original recipe made for Mother’s Day, in beautifully presented jars and this would make a nice wee gift for someone.

21/2 cups white sugar

1 cup olive oil

4 tablespoons lemon juice

Finely grated lemon zest (I used about 1 teaspoon full)

Mix all together well in a bowl using a metal spoon. Makes a 12 oz jar.

Image

17 thoughts on “Lemon Sugar Scrub for hands

  1. Hi Wendy. This looks easy and exciting. How does it leave your hands feeling? Not too greasy?
    My hands are in a really rough state, even though I have been wearing gloves. All the destruction and construction I’ve been doing is hard on the hands, especially lugging concrete paving stones about the place. And I haven’t even done much digging yet so my hands are in for a rough ride!
    I do have a lovely beeswax and kremelta moisturiser bar that Tim the Helper made for mothers day at boy scouts which is surprizingly good, but won’t last forever!
    Cheers Sarah : o )

    Like

    • Hi Sarah 🙂 Not greasy at all and leaves skin feeling really soft. I don’t wear gloves so my hands are not looking great, I really am very happy with this and seriously thinking of one for the bath/shower. Very easy and so cheap.Beeswax and kremelta sounds nice too!

      Like

  2. Dee-Dee says:

    my daughter in law made this for me, i love how soft it leaves my hands. she also made a brown sugar and spice scrub which works awesome after being in the garden…

    Like

Leave a Reply

