Not so fun weekend at quarteracre

We have had swarm earthquakes for 3 days and got a 5.7 this morning and this evening with a 6.5. Lots of broken crockery (and jars of preserving)! and no power for 3.5 hours but we’re ok. We are sleeping in the lounge because we are still being rocked by aftershocks, except I am not sleeping.

Our capital city Wellington got hit pretty hard too, the quakes were centred 15 – 20 km from our little town Seddon (out at sea)

http://www.nzherald.co.nz/nz/news/article.cfm?c_id=1&objectid=10901076

29 thoughts on “Not so fun weekend at quarteracre

  1. SO SAD TO HEAR ALL ABOUT IT NEIGHBOUR ….Sounds like your all okay now…I presume I am fortunate here Down Under in the WEST inland country.

    Take care and just one little tip on earthquakes ….Next time, you feel it starts, get your self under ANY DOOR FRAME, and close to easy exit.

    Cheers mate.

    Like

    • Thanks for that. Yep been staying around the front room most the afternoon and spent a good part under the doorway. Pretty nerve wracking but no one hurt as far as I know. My family in Wellington so a bit of concern there for few hours.
      Ta mate, we’re good ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

  2. Lynda says:

    I cannot imagine how terrifying that must be. Not only for yourself but not knowing how family and friends are fairing. Best Wishes. Lynda

    Like

  3. How scary, are they common where you live? My area has had a few but it isn’t common, the first ever recorded was in the mid 1980s so none of our home were built with the standards necessary. I hope you are able to get some rest soon.

    Like

    • Oh wow, alot more common than you then ๐Ÿ™‚ Always had odd tremors. We had two major earthquakes in Christchurch 3 years ago, that is 3 hous drive from us and they are still in pretty poor shape – I think they had something like 20,000 aftershocks. We are earthquake prone, lots of vocanos.
      The house has been rocking all night it seems, it’s 4.30 am and I haven’t slept. By far the biggest I have ever experienced.

      Like

  4. HI Wendy. Gosh it must be quite scary to be so close to the action as we all have had a recent reminder of dangerous they can be. And the loss of your preserving when you have worked so hard to build up your stocks.
    We felt the Sunday 5:23 one up here (50 minutes south of Auckland) and we never get earthquakes. I hope they have done their worst. Stay safe.
    Cheers Sarah : o )

    Like

  5. My goodness! I’m sorry that you’ve had such excitement. We’ve lived in earthquake country, but thankfully in areas that are rarely active. I hope things calm down for you soon!

    Like

  6. I’ve been in 1 quake in my life, a 3.4 or somethingscared me sufficiently. I can’t begin to imagine how you would feel in those much larger quakes. I hope that Gaia stops her shivvering and the clean up isn’t too bad for you. Bugger about those preserves and plates too. I hope there aren’t too many.

    Like

    • Terrifying things aren’t they, you just have no idea how bad things will get within seconds. Seems to have settled down now (touch wood!) Two decent boxes of broken crockery and jars and everything else has been taken off the walls and shelves just in case.

      Like

    • Not nice, not nice at all. Chch is my husband’s home town and still lots of family there so we’ve seen them all go through it but you can only imagine the fear…now we know it. I don’t remember a time when my anxieties were so high!! I think shocks are alot weaker now, hopefully that’s it!! Thanks ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

Leave a Reply

