Pumpkin, Zucchini and Spinach Cheese Bake

Layers of pumpkin, zucchini, baby spinach, onions, garlic and cheese make this very tasty. It’s a simple dish to make and I adapted it from the potato, cheese and onion pie recipe I made earlier https://quarteracrelifestyle.wordpress.com/2013/05/30/potato-cheese-and-onion-pie/

The layers are loose, it doesn’t come out in easy cut slices. I always fear putting my recipes on here because my photo taken in the dim night kitchen are hopeless but no getting around it really!!

Amounts are approx only.

400 g – 500g pumpkin, cut into 1/4 ” thick slices

2 med zucchini, sliced

2 cups baby spinach

2 onions, sliced

2 – 4 cloves garlic, crushed or chopped

2 cups grated cheese (approx)

fresh basil or parsley (optional)

Salt and pepper

Preheat oven to 350 deg.

Saute onions and garlic in oil until soft.

Place enough pumpkin to cover base of medium sized oven dish which has been greased.

Cover with sliced zucchini, then spinach leaves and a little of the onions and garlic. Sprinkle with salt and pepper then grated cheese. Repeat twice more, finishing with cheese.

Cover dish with tinfoil, bake approx  45 mins – 1 hour until pumpkin is soft. Remove foil and continue to cook until browned.

And here’s my terrible photo… this was so much better in real life lolImage

I just had the leftovers for lunch and like many things it’s better on the second day 🙂

2 thoughts on “Pumpkin, Zucchini and Spinach Cheese Bake

  1. We made that last pie and Steve loved it. I am going to have to try this one as well…the blurry image lends it a mystique! What I can see of it looks yummo! :). I could even sub nutritional yeast flakes for the cheese and I could have this a great multipurpose meal. It would be lovely served with baked potatoes as well 🙂

    Like

    • Yep it would be nce with baked potatoes…we love them! We ate the last of our potatoes last week and I’ve been trying not to have to buy them but I’m gonna have to. That’s the problem with giving produce away whenyou don’t know if you actually have enough to see you through.The potato one was scrummy, I’ve made it alot.
      I wish I had money for a decent camera, blogging about meals with crappy photos doesn’t quite cut it 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

