Chocolate Zucchini and Yogurt Cake

Rich, moist and chocolatey – you would never guess this has 3 cups of grated zucchini in it. And it’s easy, I love easy.

Image

1/2 cup butter

1/2 cup vegetable oil

1 3/4 cups sugar

1 tsp vanilla

1 tsp baking soda

1 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp salt

2 large eggs

1/2 cup sour cream, yogurt or buttermilk

2 1/2 cups flour

3/4 cup cocoa

2 tsp espresso powder

3 cups shredded zucchini

1/2 cup chocolate drops (optional, I didn’t use but would’ve been super good with it!)

Preheat oven to 325 f and grease a large cake tin. Beat together softened butter, oil, sugar, vanilla, baking soda, baking powder, yogurt, eggs and salt until smooth. Add flour and cocoa, beat, then add zucchini and lastly chocolate drops. Pour into cake tin and bake 30 – 35 minutes.

I topped with chocolate icing – 75 g softened butter, a little boiling water, 1 tsp vanilla, 1 good tbspn cocoa and enough icing sugar to beat to a good consistency.This recipe came from http://www.kingarthurflour.com/recipes/chocolate-zucchini-cake-recipe – they suggest melting chocolate over the top.

6 thoughts on “Chocolate Zucchini and Yogurt Cake

  1. YUM!!! I am actually yelling that out…the dogs are looking at me like I have left my senses and I KNOW what I am going to make tomorrow! I have some sad soggy aging zucchini left in the pantry. I was going to take bets on which one decided to dissolve the first but now I have a renewed interest in them. That cake looks truly scrumptious. You can use kefir in your cakes. It makes gorgeous cakes :). I make a simple date cake that I got out of a C.W.A. cookbook that I sub kefir for the milk and Steve loves it. A great way to get more nutrition into your cakes although with all that zucchini, this one is positively beaming with nutrients 🙂

    Like

    • I almost used the kefir but haven’t got lots yet, we are using it in our smoothies – even Roger is drinking it 🙂
      This cake is really good, you really need to use the 1/2 tsp of salt – I thought that sounded alot so halved it…it needed a bit more. Gorgeous texture.

      Like

      • It really looks like a keeper. I have no salt phobia and so 1/2 tsps. doesn’t look like much to me. Maybe half a cup would make me question it a bit 😉

        Like

Leave a Reply

