Winters arrived…’her indoors’ is staying indoors, or trying to.

Image

I detest the cold weather so there’s very little gardening going on here. The big garden is just mush and the frost seems to settle and never leave. We are not at close to the mountain as it looks πŸ™‚ This was done with the zoom. Still, cold enough for me to be spending little time out there.

This morning I picked the last from the big garden, this was it:Image

Swept up more fallen leaves and put them on the wintering garden:Image

And had a little help from my friends in spreading them πŸ™‚

Image

Image

This is not helping, they found their way upstairs into the only bit of garden we have growing at present. In the background is the nearly finished glasshouse my husband just built from recycled windows and doors. It still needs to be painted, ok for $22 πŸ™‚

Image

So because I don’t find gardening in the cold and wet very pleasant I am inside more often than not, taking the time to do other things I enjoy. However I have been getting cabin fever so last week returned to work as a casual, just occasional evenings – once or twice a week maybe. This is in a mental health respite house and it’s nice to be back. I was doing community when I left work but this is where I worked before then.

And today in the post I received kefir grains from the very awesome Narf (thank you!) and I shall be organising those for yogurt etc, it sounds an interesting process.

I can’t wait for spring already and we are just going in to winter, ooohh it’ll be a long one!!

16 thoughts on “Winters arrived…’her indoors’ is staying indoors, or trying to.

  1. WHAT CAN I SAY ??, the chickens looks healthy and happy, at least. πŸ˜€
    Like ways winter is here already, not much in my garden except spinach, dill and other herbs, radishes, young onions, letters, yes LOTS of Green salad πŸ˜€ , parsley , lemons, guava fruits, pomegranates, and tangelo, parsnips , etc, and of course, my smoke drum for pork ribs, pork belly and pork sausages πŸ˜€

    Take care πŸ˜‰

    Like

  2. Hi Wendy. Gosh it really does look cold down your way. Mind you, If I had a snow covered mountain in my view I’d probably feel the cold too! It looks pretty though. Your greenhouse looks really cute!
    Cheers Sarah : o )

    Like

    • Yes it is pretty πŸ™‚ I think the glasshouse is very cute, will be nice when he can get to paint it as its in our front yard and would look alot cuter πŸ™‚ He’s very proud of it and is going to build a bigger one in the back yard. We just can’t garden there in winter and it’s so frustrating when you rely so heavily so the garden for your food. Wendy

      Like

  3. CJ says:

    Wow, the glasshouse is amazing. Clever, clever other half. I love seeing inspirational things like this. Not sure if I could make one though, but I wish I could, it’s wonderful.

    Like

    • Yep, he’s a clever sweetie πŸ™‚ He is planning one now for the big garden. I love it, very cute! The only door he could find was a shower one and he fussed over using it till I said “there’s no reason why you shouldn’t use a shower door in your glasshouse really” lol, sometimes you just have to make do. Good we live in the country though, I can imagine a whole lot of places where this would not be seen as the ideal to the neighbours!

      Like

  4. Where does Roger get his windows and doors so cheap! Here in Tassie there are waiting lines for bathtubs at the tip shop! Very clever and that glasshouse looks so inviting :). We can see snow on Mt Barrow and Ben Lomond from here but they are a fair distance from Serendipity Farm but Steve had to pour a kettle of warm water over the windscreen on Monday when he headed off at 6.30 to do the shopping. This winter is a cold one for sure :). I agree with you in getting out in the garden when its too cold, it has knobs on it! πŸ™‚ Hopefully the kefir grains reconstitute and do their thing for you πŸ™‚

    Like

    • I’m sure the kefir will be fine. I’ve become attached to that guy’s site, verrry interesting stuff.

      Roger is a very good magpie, he just collects shit along his journeys lol. And he’ll ask people if they know anyone who…..? He’s the most resourceful person I know, his nickname here is McGiver. He is now collecting a new lot of windows for a bigger glasshouse down the bottom garden.

      Like

Leave a Reply

