3 Fruit Marmalade

Image

My husband came home with citrus fruit from the farm orchard – alot of the trees were knocked around in last weeks storm and there was fruit everywhere. He hadn’t even known they had an orchard. It’s old, uncared for and some of the trees don’t fruit anymore so he is going to prune them all back and get them up to scratch for the owners….I suspect he has a hidden agenda there lol, forever the forager! Anyway, 3 fruit marmalade.

1 kg mixed grapefruit and oranges, depending on your preference for flavour

2 large lemons

2 litres water

7 cups of sugar

Wash the fruit then cut the peel off all, leaving the pith on fruit. Chop peel into small strips of pieces. Cut the pith off fruit and discard. Chop fruit into pieces taking care not to lose the juice off your board. Place all fruit and peel into a large pan. Add water and bring to boil, simmer until the peel is soft and liquid has reduced by half.

Add the sugar, stir till dissolved then simmer again until this has reached setting point (a small spoonful in a plate and refrigerated turns to jam like consistency. When ready take off the heat and stand 10 minutes. Skim any foam gently off the top and pour into sterilised jars. This made 4 jars from around 375g to 450g.

Image

18 thoughts on “3 Fruit Marmalade

  1. Am so missing my citrus trees! (Especially this week, the whole family has had a cold). Do you have any citrus trees at your place? Managed to get my garlic and shallots in at the new section. Approx 150 garlic and 50 shallots. Planted 10cm apart.(about 2sqm) hopefully they turn out ok, need to put some pea straw over to protect. Have had a couple hard frosts down here, so fingers crossed they’re ok.

    Like

    • Hi πŸ™‚ We have a small lemon tree only and no room for any more trees, would love all sorts of citrus ones. We have had colds too and bludging lemons from friends πŸ™‚ Your garlic will be fine with the frosts, we get terrible ones and they always survive fine – you are good, we still haven’t got ours in, have got as far as discussing it and sorting the garlic to do it!!

      Like

      • Why not consider grafting some other citrus onto your lemon? Lemons aren’t a fruit you can use HEAPS of (at least in my world) yet lemon trees tend towards ridiculously prolific if the conditions are right. Craig Castree from Edible Gardens suggested grafting other citrus onto your lemon. I currently have a mandarin and a lemon, both struggling whilst I learn the ropes of gardening but I think I have them in favourable conditions now so here’s hoping they take off in Spring. They’re int he greenhouse in raised beds as we get some ridiculous frosts here (was nearly -7 last week). If the lemon does well I will graft a lime onto it if I can source a scion.

        Like

      • That’s funny, Roger suggested that himself a couple of weeks ago. I love lemon, honey and ginger drinks so I could use tons of lemons…not good for teeth though, always has to be followed by a piece of cheese to neutralise acid. Ew, we get hard frosts but not that low!

        Like

      • Nor do we usually. The coldest recorded in town is -2 or -3 or something but we are at the lowest point in town in a little hollow so the cold air sinks and pools. I nearly fainted when I saw -6.7 sometime after sunrise! The weight of our duck was supported with ease on the ice formed on their pond. Not sure if the drakes weight would have but quite possible. I had to kick it hard to break it.
        As for your small lemon, are you “watering” it? πŸ˜‰

        Like

  2. CJ says:

    Mmm, I love marmalade. And how wonderful to have citrus trees nearby. I have two or three little lemon trees inside, but that is all the weather here will allow.

    Like

  3. Isn’t it funny how nature hands us what we need when we put it “out there” into the ether? I find that whenever I need “something”, if it’s a real need, it tends to rock up and usually from a most unusual source :). Trust the force young padawan! πŸ˜‰ Love that marmalade. Steve loves it spread on toast, I love it out of the jar πŸ˜‰

    Like

    • Same goes here, we don’t have much spare money so know what we need but rarely bother rushing out to get things….then then they just happen along from some source or another. Happens all the time πŸ™‚ Patience, instead of knee jerk shopping is a good practice!! We sorely needed insulation for the ceiling and had been looking at prices in the shops and thinking maybe just one bag at a time as we can afford (I was working then) A guy Roger barely knows pulled up one day with a truck load of bags of recycled stuff he saved from a building and asked if Roger needed any, he could have the whole lot for $50 – he had been around asking a few people before he got to us. Yes, I trust πŸ™‚

      Like

  4. Not a marmalade fan. Not in the slightest. In fact I know it’s perfect and a really good batch when I can’t stand to swallow the mouthful I’m trying. lol I did make lemon marmalade a few years ago with tremendous success according to my husband and kids. I just wish I knew how to make it without using processed sugar though.

    Like

      • Thanks for the idea. I’ve not used stevia before. I know Old word garden farms blogged about sugar free jam, made using apples for pectin and honey to sweeten. Maybe it’s time to “sperimend” again… πŸ™‚

        Like

      • Lol, maybe ! It’s funny, when my husband got these grapefruit his boss tried to give him more but apparently he replied ” No, this’ll be fine thanks, she’ll only start making all sorts of shit I won’t like”…I try all sorts of things I couldn’t put on here because they’re usually flops πŸ™‚

        Like

Leave a Reply

