Silverbeet (Chard), Sundried tomato and Pesto Quiche

This is very nice using feta however I use grated cheddar nowadays. Quantities are not important here, I just throw in amounts haphazardly really.

The pesto I used in this was a parsley and sunflower one I had made and frozen. The sundried tomatoes are homemade also.

Image

I broke my one and only quiche dish several weeks ago and haven’t replaced it, so the dish I used is not one I would normally.

2 sheets pre-rolled pastry

1 bunch silverbeet leaves

Sundried tomatoes, to taste, chopped finely

1/4 – 1/3 cup pesto

7 egg

1/3 cup milk or  cream

75 – 100 g cheese, grated (or crumbled feta)

1 tsp salt, pepper

Preheat oven to 375 deg F. Line a greased quiche dish with the pastry. Layer silverbeet leaves in, sprinkling each layer with small dolops of pesto, grated cheese and sundried tomato. Finish with a layer of cheese etc. Beat together eggs with milk and add seasonings.

Image

Bake in oven till golden on top, pastry is cooked and filling in middle has set (using a skewer or knife to test) around 30 minutes.

IMG_2521

9 thoughts on “Silverbeet (Chard), Sundried tomato and Pesto Quiche

  1. LyndaD says:

    Five minutes ago i was in the back yard looking at all that healthy silverbeet wondering what to do with it (it has to be hidden or it wont be eaten). Honest, i stink of dianamic lifter but it reminds me “I am a gardener” – on weekends anyway.

    Like

  2. I can never be bothered making quiche and in our house apparently I have several “real men” as they don’t eat quiche. They do however thoroughly enjoy impossible pie – the substitute being no pastry but flour mixed through which settles to make its own pastry. Cheating at its best! 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

