Simple, slow baked shanks

Image

Low on ingredients and time yesterday I rushed this into the oven and it turned out delicious so thought I would share. Though of course it would be nice with lamb these were hoggett shanks which need a little more cooking.

4 shanks

2 med onions

1 cup sliced mushrooms

5 – 6 tomatoes depending on size, chopped (or a can would do)

3 cloves garlic, crushed or sliced

rosemary leaves, couple of sprigs

tablespoon brown sugar

1 tsp salt

black pepper

drizzle olive oil

Place lamb shanks in bottom of a lidded roasting dish, cover with onions, mushrooms, tomatoes, garlic, and rosemary leaves. Sprinkle with salt and pepper, and drizzle some olive oil over. Cover and bake in slow oven (220 deg F) for 3 – 3 1/2 hours. These are meat coming off the bone tender and very tasty.

We had with mashed potatoes and sauteed vegetables.

Image

10 thoughts on “Simple, slow baked shanks

  1. I could see this with several different meat options, or even with beans! Looks so appetizing! I was thinking that if I were low on time, I’d throw the veggies in around the edges and bake the whole thing . . .

    Like

  2. You can buy hogget in N.Z.?! You lucky sods! Lamb is the only thing that we can access here unless we manage to find a farmer who is killing his own. I remember growing up eating mutton and hogget and hogget makes the best roasts and mutton shanks render down to the most unctuous and amazing slow braises and stews. Mum used to be a shearers cook and would bring home bags of shanks back when they were simply a byproduct and weren’t worth anything to the farmer. We lived on them and adored them as kids. I would hate to add up the cost in todays “shank money” of how many shanks I ate as a child! Lovely recipe. My sister has a fantastic shank soup recipe that she shared with me. I have long since lost it but she makes it all the time. Let me know if you would like it and I will ask her for it 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

