Carrot – Banana Dog Biscuits

In my fridge I had a pile of mutated carrots I needed to do something with and I honestly haven’t want to cook them – only because they needed peeling and obviously that wouldn’t be that easy!

Image

I remembered seeing a recipe for dog biscuits with carrot carrot in. Having 3 dogs in the house means we go through a few treats so, inspired by this recipe http://www.17apart.com/2012/02/how-to-carrot-banana-natural-dog-treat.html I made some with a few tweaks. You must look here to find the original recipe and also see the cutest wee dog biscuits :). Mine are not cute – they’re very ordinary lol, but the dogs seriously loved them.

2 1/2  – 3 cups wholemeal flour

1 cup bran flakes

1/2 cup cornmeal

4 carrots, grated

1 banana, mashed,

2 eggs

1 tablespoon of molasses (opt)

1 tablespoon honey

1/3 cup vegetable oil

Preheat oven to 350 deg.

Mix 2 1/2 cups flour, bran and cornflour in a large bowl. Sir in grated carrot. In a small bowl mash a banana, add molasses, eggs, honey and oil and mix well. Add to dry ingredients. Add the extra flour if needed to make a stiff dough.

Tip out onto a floured bench and roll out to 1 cm thick. Cut into squares, place on 2 greased oven trays and bake for 35 minutes. Turn oven off after this and leave to go hard in warm oven.

Image

 A post note on this – I made these a week later using grated pumpkin and rolled oats in with the flour and the dogs loved them also.  

14 thoughts on “Carrot – Banana Dog Biscuits

  1. Lol you carrots look like I fear mine might when I dig them up. Having help the seeds ended up more in a clump. I’m sure that recipe would save you lots of money in the long run if you keep making them.

    Like

    • 🙂 We had quite a few like this sitting in the crisper that were no longer really very crispy…..my husband says “You can still use these ay?” and I nod thinking I ain’t even going to go there! But, waste not want not. There’s a use for everything. A box of biscuits with less than this is at least $7 so I think I’ll just continue with these in some form. Good nutrition for them and I think a good way to use up veges past their prime.

      Like

  2. An excellent recipe…now I just need to get the dogs to eat them when I make them :(. Earl will take a carrot and tear it into tiny little pieces but only on the mat/rug and ONLY if none of it actually goes down his throat…he has been known to do this with all rooty vegetables that he can get his questing beak on…Bezial gives me sad eyes whenever I try to give him anything other than meat or butter. They are his 2 food groups. He will eat grass when we are walking but at home, I can “forgedaboudit!”. Sigh…I am going to be the quintessential opptimist that I am and am going to bake some of these today. I will sub butter for the oil (in the hope of luring Bezial to the party) and will blend everything pretty finely. I might even double the butter! Dogs can eat more fat than we can (30% if my mind remembers correctly). I will let you know if they eat them…if not, at least the chooks will love them! 🙂 (and if they don’t…I can count on the possums to turn up at night time, have a party with the leftovers and leave less mess than Earl with his carrot and maybe…just maybe they won’t eat half of my potted plants in return!) 😉

    Like

    • That was my thinking, if the dogs don’t eat them the chooks will. All of them loved them. I gave one each and put all the rest on the bench and they all just sat there waiting for another. I didn’t think till afterwards I should’ve used fat I had in the fridge to make some birdseed things.I will be making plenty of these so will use it next time.
      I think this recipe could loan itself to other wilted or weird vegetables past human consumption edibleness 🙂

      Like

  3. Loved this recipe and have re-blogged it; although I see Narf7 has been here before me 🙂
    By the way, you might consider not peeling your veggies; I grew up with everything peeled, but had a great doctor when my boys were young; she recommended not peeling, as there is a lot of vitamin and mineral content just under the skin. I just brush mine in water with a stiffish brush these days. Mum likes things peeled, still, so if she’s sharing, I brush a bit harder 🙂

    I’m passing on this recipe to friends who have dogs. My boys would have eaten them back in the day . . . for some reason, they loved dog biscuits . . .

    Like

    • I was tempted to try one myself but they’re quite hard 🙂 When the carrots are young or really nice ones I don’t peel, but my mother never peeled carrots and I always hated that….have a thing I guess lol. I often don’t peel potatoes, love potato skins.
      Thanks for re-blog 🙂

      Like

  4. LyndaD says:

    Ole Dopey me, here is the recipe. I read your posts out of order. Will try and make some on weekend. Funny, i have a husband who give his plate to the dog as well and then gets frustrated by the dog sitting under his feet when he is eating. Huh! “Why doesnt he sit under you, he says” . That would be because i dont feed him anywhere other than his bowl!

    Like

    • lol, our little foxy will eat anything he sees us eating off our plates, doesn’t matter what it is. He is not impressed with dog food in a bowl, he gives me looks that imply this simply isn’t good enough for me.

      Like

Leave a Reply

