Pumpkin and Spinach Chickpea (Garbanzo) Patties

Image

I found this recipe on the net a couple of years ago and change it to suit whatever I have in the garden or as leftovers, unfortunately I can’t remember where I got it from to link it to it’s rightful owner. It’s such a versatile and inexpensive recipe.

I buy my chickpeas from a bulk food store, cook and freeze them in serving sized packets. This is alot cheaper than buying canned and I prefer the taste of them.

1 tbspn oil

1 med onion

2 cloves of garlic

Small zucchini, grated

400 g – 500 g chickpeas

2 – 3 slices of wholegrain bread made into soft breadcrumbs

2 tbsp peanut butter

1 egg yolk

1 1/2 tsp curry powder

3 cups cooked vegetables (I used 11/2 cups cooked pumpkin, 1 1/2 cups finely shredded raw spinach)

1 tablespoon chopped fresh coriander (or other herbs)

1 tsp salt and little pepper

Fry onion and garlic till soft, drain well. Squeeze all liquid out of grated zucchini. Using a food processor make breadcrumbs then add chickpeas and process till crumbly but still some texture to peas. Tip into a bowl and add all other ingredients, mixing well. Mixture should be like a hamburger consistency, able to shape into patties. If too wet add more breadcrumbs. Fry on each side till golden.

We had these served with chutney, jacket potatoes, salad and beetroot. They also make a great vegetarian hamburger, or with salad as an open sandwich…or just cold out of the fridge! I vary them every time, sometimes leaving the curry powder out depending on what is in them.

Added 2 weeks later, toasted bread with salad and shallow fried chips.

IMG_2504

6 thoughts on “Pumpkin and Spinach Chickpea (Garbanzo) Patties

  1. Cheers for the idea…I needed something new to spruce up my Meatless Monday. And I’ve got all these ingrediants to boot! So far the family favourite is a veggie lasagne, but can’t make that every week. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

