Spicy Fruit Loaves

Image

I rarely bake these days, not like when all the kids were home and I’d do 3 batches every few days. Up till a few months ago I would make a cake every Sunday for my husband’s lunches. we stopped that when we decided baking involved buying groceries we didn’t really need, and our diet was good without all the “extras”. However, while I, the chubby one have not lost a single ounce eating out of the garden my husband, the thin one, is losing weight. Ain’t that just typical!! So I decided today baking was in order.

This is a loaf I have been making for 30 years and hubby loves it. An elderley neighbour gave me the recipe when my kids were little. This makes 2 loaves however I just chuck it in a large cake tin. This is spicy, fruity, moist and lasts well. It’s nice cold with butter, yummy hot with cream.

In a pot put :

2 – 3 cups of golden raisins (sultanas) depending on whether use dates or not

1 cup dates

1 1/2 cups sugar

1 tablespoon golden syrup

1 tsp baking soda

2 cups water

Bring to the boil, simmer for 5 minutes. Leave to cool then beat in 2 eggs.

In a large boil sift 2 cups of flour, 1 good teaspoon baking powder, 1 tsp cinnamon, 1 tsp mixed spice, 1/4 tsp salt, walnuts or pumpkin/sunflower seeds as desired. Add the wet mixture 1/2 at a time, mixing well.

Tip into lined tins and bake 35 – 45 minutes or until skewer comes out clean. Leave in tins for 10 minutes then cool on rack.

Image

11 thoughts on “Spicy Fruit Loaves

  1. Must be the manual labour! Looks yummy. Have you ever made this recipe with honey instead of sugar? I’d love to find a consistent supply of honey (and inexpensive) in the chch area and start using honey instead of sugar. Urban bee keeping isn’t an for us, as hubby’s allergic.

    Like

    • Hi ๐Ÿ™‚ No, I never have only because honey is so expensive but I did find a honey place in Blenheim where I got a 1 Kg pot for $9.95 and if you take your own jar it’s only $7.95 but I haven’t been back yet. I don’t really like it but Roger loves it. He would like to have his own bees but quite expensive to start up, good little hobby though. I found a recipe on Pinterest for making your own date sugar and thought I would try that.

      Like

      • Thanks for the recipe! I’m going to re-blog in a minute; it sounds SO good. My friend Narf7 from “The Road to Serendipity” blog makes date paste, which she uses for a sweetener. Maybe you can ask her for the how-to . . . there’s a link on my blog to hers, but she’s on wordpress, so you can likely go there direct. ~ Linne

        Like

  2. Loved this and read it via Linnie’s blog this morning ;). What a small world eh? Tassie to Canada to N.Z. and back in a matter of moments…I didn’t even get jetlagged! Now THAT’S what I call efficient travel! ๐Ÿ˜‰ I am going to make Steve one of these. He loves all things loafy and unctuous and date filled although when he first set foot on Aussie soil back in 1999 he swore black and blue that he hated dates and he hated garlic. If I was able to quantify the amount of dates and garlic that have processed through him since then (what a horrifying thought! ๐Ÿ˜‰ )I dare say they would amount to a whole lot more than the “none” that he claimed he would eat ;). Cheers for a wonderful recipe that I will be making this weekend on my baking day (Saturday). ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

    • Lol, it IS a small world and what sychronicity! Isn’t the net amazing….I often think alot of us don’t even know our own neighbours nowadays but get yacking to people from all over the world with such ease. Let me know what he thinks of these. Another favourite is sticky date scrolls, ohhh yum. Roger told me when we met he didn’t have a sweet tooth at all yet when I’m baking he hangs around the kitchen like a little kid and it’s not long before it’s demolished :).I will search out your date paste, I also want to make the date sugar recipe I saw, sounds nice for porridge etc.

      Like

      • I agree and making your own natural healthy wholefood sugar? What total kitchen control freak wouldn’t want that eh? ;). Did you post the recipe for the sticky date scrolls? I think I might die and go to heaven if I could replicate them! Steve would hoard them (dates and all! ๐Ÿ˜‰ )

        Like

      • Exactly!! Lol. Total kitchen control freak, I like that. I also think of myself as our Food Quality Control Officer!! No, I haven’t posted the recipe for those yet, due to make some soon though – something I have been craving for ๐Ÿ™‚

        Like

      • Sounds like a perfect opportunity to mix pleasure with business methinks! ๐Ÿ™‚ Can’t wait! (Drooling in anticipation ๐Ÿ™‚ )

        Like

Leave a Reply

