A whole week at home

Gosh, it’s nice not having to go to work, but I have been very busy! My house was a mess and this past week I have been tidying, cleaning, sorting…purging. I have alot of stuff I no longer want so one double bed is covered in boxes of STUFF, from books to china, ornaments, clothes. After four years of working in a tiring job while struggling with fibro, and months of preserving like crazy there has been such alot needs doing.

We actually went for a drive last Sunday to have a break from routine. We headed 100 km South to a town called Kaikoura, famous for it’s whale watching and seal colonies. It’s a beautiful place but not alot of shops to browse. We found 2 apple trees on the way, they didn’t belong to anyone and were well off the road and we got about 30 kg of apples, leaving heaps for others. Today I have made a large pot of apple sauce for freezing, unfortunately there is still a heap left I have to deal to tomorrow! I have a large bucket in the pantry full of apple cores and peels I am really hoping will turn into a successful batch of apple cider vinegar – I have never made it before and pay $5 – $6 a bottle for it.

I’ve made 2 large jars of sun (actually dehydrator) dried tomatoes in olive oil because the tomatoes just keep coming. The plants are dying off and there are still heaps to pick.

We have just planted our broad beans and have been covering alot of the garden with pea straw for wintering. There are brussell sprouts, broccolli, leeks, silverbeet, beetroot, onions, carrots, lettuce and parsnips in. No cabbage because neither of us likes it, no caulis because we don’t seem to do well with those. Pumpkins have been stored along with onions and potatoes and the rest of our vegetables will come from what has been preserved.

I’ve still been madly drying and preserving figs, as well as tomatoes, more sauces and chutneys. The fiejoas have just started ripening and falling and my husband has his eyes on a pear tree at work that is dropping fruit everywhere no one seems to want. As yet we have been unable to find any field mushrooms, waiting…..waiting. We also have been trying to find walnuts, every other year we have had a bin full from a friend but he moved so I need to find a cheap source of them.

We have a new addition to the family, my husbands new farm dog Syd. He gets lonely in a kennel at the farm so spends the days there and comes home with Roger. At 10 months old he’s a big dog and very lovely. However he has managed to destroy 5 of my birds nests off the porch, a gumboot full of flowers, a doormat, plus the blanket we found him. He is not supposed to come inside but comes in for wee visits – well I sneak him in with the man of the house is not around. He had never been in a house before and crawled in on all fours, I think he must’ve thought the ceiling was alot lower than it is ๐Ÿ™‚ After seeing himself in the window and spending ages watching himself I got a mirror out. He stood there for ages just staring.

Image

Those beautiful tulip were a leaving gift from work along with a very nice voucher for art gear which I spent the next day. I may get time soon to actually use them ๐Ÿ™‚

7 thoughts on “A whole week at home

  1. I LOVE Syd :). We have our own “Syd” in the form of Earl. We bought Earl from a stud in South Australia when he was 17 weeks old and had obviously never had to deal much with humans. He was a very long faced gangly pup when we picked him up from the airport in Hobart and drove him home (after he inhaled a pile of steamed chook, a quarter kilo of smoked ham and a pie from a roadhouse the poor thing was SO skinny!). He proceeded to eye off the house and was very cautious for about 3 days. Our other dog Bezial wasn’t so keen to have another dog and let him know in no uncertain terms but whilst Earl is manic to a tee, he also has the most incredible loving streak in him and Bezial couldn’t resist (he wishes he had now but too late! ๐Ÿ˜‰ ). Our home is perpetually covered in dog hair (“short breeds don’t shed”…BOLLOCKS! ๐Ÿ˜‰ ) and occasionally in fits of pique Earl takes his revenge on some form of “furniture” (he isn’t fussy) or floor coverings but he is starting to learn that there are consequences to your actions…pity he could care less about consequences at the moment but we are hoping that like Bezial, age will bring him a degree of sanity ;). The picture of Syd looking at himself is priceless. The moment when a dog realises that he has a physical form. Love your tulips, your art supplies (good luck finding time to use them ๐Ÿ˜‰ ) and your ethos and can’t wait to follow your wonderful journey into living a truly simple life with passion and gusto ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

    • Aw, your dogs sound cute ๐Ÿ™‚ Its so rewarding to take home a not so happy dog and make him loved. We also have an 18 yr old foxie who is not liking Syd too much. Syd towers over him and shadows Bob everywhere he goes trying to round him up. Syd was very thin too and very nervous, I don’t think he had been at all well treated but he’s eating heaps and becoming sleek and shiny, loves his cuddles now ๐Ÿ™‚
      Yeah, I can’t see the art gear coming out anytime soon, but a good way to spend those winters days when they arrive! Thanks for that ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

      • Can’t wait to see your arty posts ๐Ÿ™‚ Earl sends a bit smelly “HI” to Syd and commiserates with him about aging dogs that are “NO FUN AT ALL!” (had to yell there Bezial is deaf…actually he isn’t deaf at all…just ignoring you Earl and hoping that you will go away! ๐Ÿ˜‰ )

        Like

      • lol My last dog lived to 15 and was born deaf….well, he liked to think so. He ALWAYS heard the fridge door open or the car keys jangle – never heard an order in his entire life!
        Yes, my arty posts – one day ๐Ÿ™‚

        Like

  2. I love Syd, too! Also waiting for ‘arty posts’. I know, I know . . . after winter sets in . . . sigh. You may have ours, please help yourselves. I really don’t want anymore . . . ๐Ÿ™‚ ~ Linne
    p.s. please let us know how the apple cider vinegar turns out. I never tried making it myself. ~ L

    Like

    • No, you can keep your winter, ours’ll be here soon enuff! Syd’s a gorgeous dog, so placid. I have had strict instructions not to molly coddle, “he’s a working dog and can’t be spoilt”…!! Yep, will post how the vinegar turns out – looks easy enough but these things often turn out wrong for me lol. Arty posts – I have 3 paintings begging to be finished, just never get there!

      Like

Leave a Reply

