A week’s meals – Day 1, Saturday

It does occur to me I show very few meals in this blog – reason being I don’t often use recipes and they aren’t anything exciting, however they are healthy, delicious and are based around foods from the garden, eggs from our chooks, occasional fish traded / or given to us and meat we get off the farm hubby works on.

For a week I am going to show what we are eating and how little we are now buying. Homegrown etc are shown in bold.

Breakfast  was a smoothie with milk, eggs, mixed berries, figs and peaches.

smoothie

Lunch was just a sandwich on the run really for me as I was going out. This was bread, tomato, cucumber and red onion. Wasn’t even going to bother with a photo but here tis 🙂

sandwich

Dinner was an omelette and salad. Omelette had eggs, tomato, chives, bacon, red pepper, little cheese. Salad was lettuce, grated beetroot and carrots, cucumber, courgette, avocado, basil, parsley,strawberries.

dinner day 1

Drinks were coffee or sage tea.

And, I had a couple of pieces of a sweet I made a couple of days ago and none of the ingredients came from our garden! I still have coconut oil, dried coconut and honey in the pantry. Sooner or later they will run out but for now I still have them 🙂

coconut sweet

Coconut crack  bars: recipe from http://www.chocolatecoveredkatie.com

  • 1 cup shredded coconut
  • 1/4 cup agave or pure maple syrup (I used honey)
  • 2 tbsp coconut oil
  • 1/2 tsp pure vanilla extract
  • 1/8 tsp salt

Combine all ingredients in a food processor. Whiz till well combined and press into small square dish, chill for an hour before trying to cut. (Or freeze for 15 minutes.)

Leave a Reply

