Love this idea – to try!!

Rock Farmer

I love fruit scrap vinegar. Since discovering that I can turn peels, cores, and squishy bits of overripe fruit into delicious vinegar, I’ve been giving in to my desire for more, more, more. It makes great salad dressing, it’s delicious over steamed vegetables, truly it works well in any recipe that calls for vinegar. The flavor and fragrance of the fruit comes through in each batch, so much so that I don’t need to label the jars; one sniff tells me which batch is blackberry and which is plum.

All fruit scrap vinegar roads seem to lead back to Sandor Ellix Katz and his book Wild FermentationI use the method outlined by No Impact Man Colin Beavan, and he credits Sandor Katz. I owe them both a big thank you – I love everything about fruit scrap vinegar. Well, everything except for the smell of pineapple vinegar…

View original post 505 more words

Leave a Reply

