Polenta Crusted Fried Green Tomatoes

Image

I live in NZ and fried green tomatoes is not something I had tried before, it’s not usual fare here. But, given we had so many in the garden I thought I would give them a go. This recipe is similar to one I found on 120dollarsfoodchallenge.com, which is a great site by the way!

1 cup fine polenta

1/3 cup parmesan cheese

few leaves basil, finely chopped

Salt and black pepper

2 eggs

flour to coat

Combine the polenta, parmesan, basil  & seasoning in a dish. Cut green tomatoes in 1/2 cm thick slices. Coat in flour, dip in beaten eggs then coat in polenta mix. Fry on each side till golden.

Nice 🙂 However, next time I think I will season the tomatoes before coating. I served these with cold meat and chutney, baby betroot and tossed salad.

Leave a Reply

