Parsley and Sunflower Pesto

I love pesto, but there isn’t enough basil at present to make some. I had seen recipes for parsley pesto in the past so searched the net. I adapted a recipe and used sunflower seeds because pinenuts are expensive, sunflower seeds are not (and I will have my own soon)Image

4 cups of packed parsley

1 1/2 cups toasted sunflower seeds

3 cloves garlic, finely chopped

3 tablespoons lemon juice

1 tsp lemon zest

3/4 cup extra virgin olive oil

3.4 tsp salt

1/2 cup parmesan

Pulse sunflower seeds in food processor till rough crumbs. Add parsley, salt, lemon zest & juice and garlic, whiz till finely chopped and blended. Add parmesan, then pour in oil slowly while blending till the desired consistency.

This is delicious. I have left some out for using, the rest has been spooned into ice cube trays and will be bagged when frozen.

3 thoughts on “Parsley and Sunflower Pesto

  1. What ho…I have already been here! Methinks I just pinched the recipe and promptly “forgodaboudit”! (Dumbass…) I will be making this post haste today to accompany something that needs a good flavour boost. Cheers again for sharing…”Hi ho, hi ho, it’s off to Pin I go…” 😉

    Like

Leave a Reply

