Thick Mint Sauce Recipe

After searching for ages I found a really nice recipe for mint sauce. This is a richer, thicker mint sauce than others I have tried which always disappointed.

1 litre of malt vinegar

800 g brown sugar

1 – 1 1/2 cups cups of finely chopped mint

Bring the sugar and vinegar to the boil stirring to dissolve sugar. Simmer gently for 5 – 10 minutes (till a little has evaporated), then cool till just warm. Add mint, stir well, then bottle into sterilised bottles.

I wasn’t sure if this was going to be very economical, it cost around $4 to make. It filled one wine bottle and a recycled mint sauce bottle, the original mint sauce had cost $4 something.

mint sauce

I usually dry herbs in the oven but a friend has loaned me a dehydrator – never used one before and have been thinking of trying to buy a secondhand one.

2 thoughts on “Thick Mint Sauce Recipe

  1. Jan Broughton says:

    Hi there, I have just made a batch of your thick mint sauce recipe. Looks good, pretty sweet though, I expect that’s the preserving aspect of the sauce. Can you tell me how long the sauce will last bottled, also storage – pantry until opened, then fridge? Or keep in the fridge from bottled? I would appreciate a reply as I am making the sauce as gifts. By the way I used Asian mint that a friend gave me- smells delicious!
    I am enjoying your blog. Email me at: jan@broughtonmusic.com
    Regards
    Jan Broughton 27/11/13.

    Like

    • Hi there Jan :) I am pleased you enjoy my blog :)

      I store it in the pantry, no need for refrigeration, it keeps very well – this last lot lasted 8 months before I used it all and it still tasted great. The flavours will improve as time goes on, yes it is quite a bit sweeter than many other mint sauces but it is delicious and a more robust flavour than most. What a nice Christmas gift! Enjoy.
      Regards, Wendy

      Like

Leave a Reply

